Saina Nehwal
Saina Nehwal is India's best player in the women's circuit.Reuters

The badminton scenario in India has been improving every year with Saina Nehwal carrying the Indian flag for some years now. Other players such as PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth have also been gradually improving, which can be understood by their performances in the last 12-18 months or so.

Hence, with one of the most prestigious world mixed team badminton championship, Sudirman Cup starting from 10 May in China, India will be eager to create history by turning triumphant in such a prestigious title, which India has not won in the past.

But, it is not going to be an easy outing for India, as India have been pitted in a tricky group alongside Malaysia and Korea. There will be five matches in every round, which includes men and women's singles, men and women's doubles and mixed doubles.

India may do fairly well in the singles competition, but India may be found wanting in doubles, where they do not enjoy a good record.

The tournament, which first kick started in 1989 has been a happy hunting ground for China winning the title nine times in the past. The prestigious competition is a biennial event and in the last five occasions, it is China who have stood tall amongst all other nations in the competition.

Hence, this time around as well, China will be one of the favourites for the competition. The host finds themselves in an easy group alongside Germany and Thailand.

Here is a look at the four groups in the competition

Group 1A – China, Thailand and Germany

Group1B – Japan, Chinese Taipei and Russia

Group 1C – Indonesia, Denmark and England

Group 1D – Korea, India and Malaysia

Most Successful Nations

China – 9

Korea – 3

Indonesia – 1

Complete Fixture

10 May

China vs Germany

Japan vs Russia

Korea vs Malaysia

Denmark vs England

11 May

Chinese Taipei vs Russia

Thailand vs Germany

India vs Malaysia

Indonesia vs England

12 May

China vs Thailand

Japan vs Chinese Taipei

13 May

Denmark vs Indonesia

Korea vs India

14th May

Two quarter-finals

15th May

Two quarter-finals

16th May

Two semi-finals

17th May


Live on TV

Star Sports 2 and Star Sports 2 HD in India.