Ban in The Seven Deadly Sins
Ban in The Seven Deadly SinsFB / The Seven Deadly Sins

The first season of "The Seven Deadly Sins" received great response from both fans and critics, which encouraged creators to announce another season of the series.

Anime News Network has said the second season of "The Seven Deadly Sins" is all set to release some time in 2016.

The release date announcement was made in a short advertisement broadcast during the final episode of "Arslan Senki".

The first season of "The Seven Deadly Sins" began on 5 October, 2014, and ended with 24 episodes. Only six of the original characters from the manga were introduced during the season.

Korea Portal said the seventh character would be introduced in the second season â€” the same time he debuts in the manga series.

The first season ended with Meliodas and his group emerging victors. As Season 2 will most likely follow the manga counterpart more closely, there is a significant chance that a new group of enemies, known as "The Ten Commandments", will make an appearance.

TV Tropes reported that these characters belong to the Demon Clan, which was resurrected after the end of the first season.

The fans of "The Seven Deadly Sins" might get an action-packed Season 2, given that the anime truly follows the manga. It is expected that Meliodas will finally achieve his full potential in the upcoming episodes.

The immortal Ban will go on a mission for resurrecting his dead love. In the meanwhile, Escanor, Lion's Sin of Pride, will become a member of the gang while everyone will try to enhance their powers to fight the new enemies of "The Ten Commandments".

With a more thrilling story and new characters, there is a significant possibility that "The Seven Deadly Sins" Season 2 will be as successful as the first one, which received the best shonen manga title at the 39th Kodansha Manga awards.

The complete first season of "The Seven Deadly Sins" is available on Netflix.