Sania Mirza has been a huge figure for India in the women's tennis doubles circuit for India.Reuters

The year 2015 seems to be getting better and better for top Indian tennis player Sania Mirza. Not only did she attain the number one ranking in women's doubles, she also won her first women's doubles Grand Slam title after eclipsing the 2015 Wimbledon title.

To make the year even more grand, the tennis sensation is set to receive India's highest sporting honour Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. Sania Mirza will join the elusive list of Indian sportspersons such as Sachin Tendulkar, Geet Sethi and Dhanraj Pillay among others to recieve the major honour.

  • Tennis Sensation Sania Mirza Joins Deepika Pallikal as Contender For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015
  • Sania Mirza Leads Race for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for 2015
  • RIP APJ Abdul Kalam: Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Sania Mirza and Other Indian Sports Stars Pay Tribute on Twitter
  • India Yet To Become a 'Tennis Friendly Nation', Says Wimbledon 2015 Women's Doubles Winner Sania Mirza
  • Twitterati, Smriti Irani Slam BBC India for Ignoring Sania Mirza in 'Hingis Wins Wimbledon Doubles Final' Tweet

Sania Mirza will become the second tennis player to win the prestigious award after Leander Paes, who won the award in 1996-97. Champion shooter Ranjan Sodhi was the last person to win the award.

The tennis star seems to have been chosen over other fellow sportspersons such as squash star Dipika Pallikal, Vikas Gowda and Seema Punia (discuss throw), Sardar Singh (hockey) and Kidambi Srikanth (badminton). 

Sania Mirza has been able to achieve such a prestigious award after her performance in the tennis circuit over the years. Though she might have been very impressive this year, the Hyderabadi girl has been carrying the Indian flag in the women's circuit for a while.

It will not be unfair to state that Mirza is the player, who placed India's name in the women's tennis map. 

Winning such awards is not something very new to Sania Mirza, as she has also won the Arjuna Award and the Padma Shri award in the recent past.