Saina Nehwal
Saina NehwalSaina Nehwal had lost the first game of the final against Sun Yu. Reuters

India have not been a successful nation when it comes to Olympics, winning only 26 medals in the event so far. India enjoyed their best run in 2012 London Olympics, which included a haul of six medals including two silver and four bronze. There are huge expectations from the athletes heading to Rio for the quadrennial event.

For the first time in the history of the competition, India will be sending a contingent comprising more than 100 athletes, and some of these stars have a good chance of coming back home with a gold medal, including Saina Nehwal (badminton), Jeetu Rai (50m Air Pistol), Abhinav Bindra (10m Air rifle)Leander Paes/Rohan Bopanna (tennis), Shiva Thapa (boxing), Yogeshwar Dutt and Narsingh Yadav (both wrestling) and others as well. 

However, rest of the Indian sportspersons heading to Rio are not going as mere passengers, and will be keen to shine, and make history, winning the all-important medal, which is a dream for all athletes.

All the Indian sportspersons are busy with their respective preparations, with the Rio Olympics less than a month away. They are in their crucial phase, and are trying to improve upon their fitness, and also make strategies so as to bring home a medal.

Like Indian athletes, sportspersons from all over the world will also have a similar objective of winning a medal. Hence, it is not going to be any easy for any for the India athletes to finish on the podium. They need to be consistent, and show their class among the elites in their respective sport to make the nation proud.

Here is a complete list of India athletes to have qualified so far.


  • Jeetu Rai (50m Air Pistol)
  • Gagan Narang (10m Air rifle)
  • Abhinav Bindra (10m Air rifle)
  • Gurpreet Singh (26m Rapid fire pistol)
  • Mairaj Ahmed Khan (Shotgun)
  • Prakash Nanjappa (50m pistol)
  • Manvanjit Singh Sandhu (Trap)
  • Kynan Chenai (Trap)
  • Chain Singh (50m Rifle)


  • Saina Nehwal (Women's singles)
  • PV Sindhu (Women's singles)
  • Jwala Gutta, Ashwini Ponnapaa (Women's doubles)
  • Kidambi Srikanth (Men's singles)
  • Manu Attri, Sumeet Reddy (Men's doubles)


  • Vinesh Phogat (48 kg category) Women's
  • Sakshi Malik (58 kg category) Women's
  • Babita Kumari (53 kg category) Women's
  • Yogeshwar Dutt (65 kg Free style) - Men's
  • Hardeep Singh (96 kg Greco-Roman) - Men's
  • Sandeep Tomar (57 kg) - Men's
  • Ravinder Khatri (85 kg) - Men's
  • Narsingh Yadav (74 kg) - Men's


  • Shiva Thapa (56 kgs Bantamweight category)
  • Manoj Kumar (64 kgs)
  • Vikas Krishan (75kgs)


  • Leander Paes, Rohan Bopanna (Men's doubles)
  • Sania Mirza, Prarthana Thombare (Women's doubles)
  • Rohan Bopanna, Sania Mirza (Mixed doubles)



  • Inderjeet Singh (Shot Put)
  • Dharambir Singh (200m)
  • Jinson Johnson (800m)
  • Muhammad Anas (Men's 400m race)
  • Ankit Sharma (Long Jump)
  • Vikas Gowda (Discus Throw)
  • Renjith Maheshwary (Triple Jump)
  • Gurmeet Singh (Men's 20 km walk)
  • Baljinder Singh (Men's 20 km walk)
  • Irfan Kolothum Thodi (Men's 20 km walk)
  • Sandeep Kumar (Men's 50 km walk)
  • Manish Singh Rawat (Men's 50 km walk)
  • Nitender Singh Rawat (Marathon)
  • Thonakal Gopi (Marathon)
  • Kheta Ram (Marathon)
  • 4 x 400m relay


  • Seema Antil (Discus Throw)
  • Manpreet Kaur (Shot put)
  • Dutee Chand (Women's 100m race)
  • Srabani Nanda (Women's 200m event)
  • Nirmala Sheoran (400m)
  • Kavita Raut (Women's marathon)
  • Lalita Babar (3000m steeplechase)
  • Tintu Luka (Women's 800m event)
  • Khushbir Kaur (20km walk)
  • Sapna Punia (20km walk)
  • OP Jaisha (Marathon)
  • Sudha Singh (Marathon)
  • 4 x 400m relay

Table Tennis

  • Mouma Das (Women's)
  • Manika Batra (Women's)
  • Soumyajit Ghosh (Men's)
  • Achanta Sharath Kamal (Men's)


  • Atanu Das (Men's)
  • Deepika Kumari (Women's)
  • Laxmirani Majhi (Women's)
  • Bombayla Devi (Women's)


  • Dipa Karmakar(Women's)


  • Avatar Singh


  • Dattu Bhokanal (Men's)


  • Men's hockey team
  • Women's hockey team