29 polling centres spread across nine districts of Andhra Pradesh are currently witnessing a repoll, which is also being monitored by the Election Commission through webcast.

Media reports said that the EC was conducting voting in the Naxallite infested areas of the nine districts, which will continue only till 4 pm. However, in other polling centres, the voting will continue till 6 pm.

Repolling is taking place in Seemandhra in the districts of Srikakulam, Vijayanagaram, Visakhapatnam, Krishna and Kadapa. In Telangana region, repolling is taking place in Karimnagar, Nijamabad, Rangareddy and Khammam districts.

Record victory for TDP in local bodies' election in Seemandhra

Meanwhile, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Seemandhra has garnered a record victory in the local bodies elections by winning 54 municipal councils among the total 92. The party is also poised to grab power in 11 more municipal councils with the support of other parties.

However, Congress has almost been wiped out in the local bodies' election in Seemandhra region, and has not won even a single municipal council. A hung status has been declared in 11 municipal councils.

TDP has swept five of the seven city corporations in Seemandhra. The city corporations TDP has won are: Rajahmundry, Eluru, Vijayawada, Anantapuram and Chittoor, where the party bags the city's mayor posts without the support of other parties. YS Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) has won in two city corporations-Nellore and Kadapa.

YSRCP has won 15 municipal councils in Seemandhra.

Total municipal councils in Seemandhra: 92 (Hung status has been declared in 11 municipal councils)
Political Party Won on own majority Possibility to win with the support of other parties/independents
TDP 54 11
YSRCP 15 0
Congress 0 1