Red Hot Chili Peppers
The Red Hot Chili Peppers perform during the halftime show of the NFL Super Bowl XLVIII football game between the Denver Broncos and the Seattle Seahawks in East Rutherford, New Jersey, February 2, 2014.Reuters

It seems like 2016 will be the year of comebacks. Guns N' Roses made a smashing return and so did LCD Soundsystem, The Last Shadow Puppets and Yndi Halda. Even Radiohead released a new single all of a sudden recently.

Now it is time for Red Hot Chili Peppers' to make their comeback official. The Los Angeles-based funk rock/alternative rock band released a new single, "Dark Necessities," today and announced their 11th studio album, "The Getaway," which is scheduled for a release on June 17, 2016. (See the album tracklist below)

"The Getaway" will be the band's first studio record in five years after 2011's "I'm With You." It will also be the band's first album without producer Rick Rubin. Danger Mouse will handle the production responsibilities and Nigel Godrich, the go-to producer of Radiohead, will handle the mixing of the 13-track LP.

Anthony Kiedis, the frontman of Red Hot Chili Peppers, had hinted last year in an interview with Rolling Stone that the new album will see them taking a new direction in terms of sound. "Dark Necessities" acts as a perfect introduction to the new sound.

The song is a soulful mid-tempo smasher that sees the band use synth layers and piano arpeggios while maintaining the vintage funky bass and guitar lines that Red Hot Chili Peppers are so well known for. Another aspect of the song that might remind you of the bands classics like "Snow" and "Californication" is Kiedis' vocals that seems almost like a tongue-twister. Going by the way "Dark Necessities" sounds, we may as well expect a few surprises in the upcoming album.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – currently consisting of vocalist Kiedis, bassist Flea, guitarist Josh Klinghoffer and drummer Chad Smith – will also embark on a world tour to promote the album starting with a concert on May 14, 2016. (See the full schedule and get tickets here)

"The Getaway" tracklist:

1. "The Getaway"
2. "Dark Necessities"
3. "We Turn Red"
4. "The Longest Wave"
5. "Goodbye Angels"
6. "Sick Love"
7. "Go Robot"
8. "Feasting on the Flowers"
9. "Detroit"
10. "This Ticonderoga"
11. "Encore"
12. "The Hunter"
13. "Dreams of a Samurai"