Sairaj Bahutule-Manoj Tiwary
Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary will be confident his side can make it to the semifinals.IANS

Eight teams have made it to the knockout rounds of the Ranji Trophy 2015-2016 quarterfinal and now the battle will get tougher as all teams eye the silverware. 

Bengal, Assam, Vidarbha, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Saurashtra, Jharkhand and Mumbai have made it to the quarterfinals of the Ranji Trophy this season.

The first quarterfinal will be played between Vidarbha and Saurashtra at the Dr PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex in Vizianagaram starting on Wednesday. 

The second quarterfinal will see Assam and Punjab locking horns at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Valsad also starting on the same day.

The third quarterfinal will be played between Bengal and Madhya Pradesh at the Cricket Club of India, popularly known as the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Last, but not the least, Jharkhand will take on Mumbai in the fourth quarterfinal at the SDNRW Ground in Mysore. 

All the eight teams have played good all-round cricket to make it to the knockout rounds of the Ranji Trophy 2015-2016. 

Vidarbha had the most number of points (29 points) in Group A followed by Bengal (28) and Assam (26). Defending champions Karnataka finished fifth in the points table and were knocked out. 

In Group B, Mumbai topped the table with 35 points, followed by Punjab (26) and Madhya Pradesh (24).

Meanwhile, Saurashtra (36) and Jharkhand (31) made it to the quarterfinals from Group C. 

All the quarterfinal matches will be played from 3-7 February. The semifinals will be played from 13-17 February in Vadodara and Cuttack respectively. The grand finale will be held at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Gahunje, in Pune from 24-27 February. 

Ranji Trophy 2015-2016 quarterfinal schedule:

Quarterfinal 1: Vidarbha vs Saurashtra

Date: 3-7 February

Venue: Dr P.V.G. Raju ACA Sports Complex, Vizag

Timing: 9:30 am IST, 4 am GMT

Quarterfinal 2: Assam vs Punjab

Date: 3-7 February

Venue: Sardar Patel Stadium, Valsad

Timing: 9:30 am IST, 4 am GMT

Quarterfinal 3: Bengal vs Madhya Pradesh

Date: 3-7 February

Venue: Cricket Club of India (Brabourne Stadium), Mumbai

Timing: 9:30 am IST, 4 am GMT

Quarter-final 4: Jharkhand vs Mumbai

Date: 3-7 February

Venue: SDNRW Ground, Mysore

Timing: 9:30 am IST, 4 am GMT

TV listings: Star Sports 2 and Star Sports HD 2 will broadcast quarterfinal 3 between Bengal and Madhya Pradesh only. For the live updates of the remaining knockout games, fans can visit the BCCI official website.