Rahul Gandhi and Sachin Pilot
India's Congress party General Secretary Rahul Gandhi (C) talks with Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh's son Jayant Chaudhary (R) and Congress Leader Sachin Pilot during a election rally in Jewar, Greater Noida in Uttar Pradesh on February 23, 2012. Polling in Uttar Pradesh began on February 4 and will conclude on February 28, completing the seven-phased process.PRAKASH SINGH/AFP/Getty Images [Representational Image]

Congress took Rajasthan from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) after the 2018 Assembly election results were announced on Tuesday, December 11.

Congress candidates won 99 out of the 199 seats, falling short by just one seat. A turnout of 74.21 per cent of its 4.74 crore voters was recorded.

Congress leader Sachin Pilot won from his constituency of Tonk and Ashok Gehlot won from Sardarpura.

BJP won 73 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won six seats, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) won two seats, Bhartiya Tribal Party won two seats, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party three seats, and Rashtriya Lok Dal got one seat.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje has submitted her resignation to Governor Kalyan Singh. She won from Jhalrapatan constituency by defeating former BJP leader Manvendra Singh.

Live Updates

2018-12-1214:26 (IST)

Party meeting is still underway at the state Congress office in Rajasthan

AICC General Secretary Avinash Pande and party's observer K C Venugopal sought the individual opinion of the party MLAs in the meeting, which is still underway at the state Congress office in Rajasthan.

State Congress chief Sachin Pilot and former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, both front-runners for the post, are present in the meeting, reports PTI.

2018-12-1211:45 (IST)

The final decision is left to Rahul Gandhi, says Sachin Pilot

Whatever the MLAs have to say they will say in the meeting and the final decision is left to Rahul Gandhi and other party leaders, said Sachin Pilot, when asked on who will be the next CM.

2018-12-1211:23 (IST)

Congress to seek support from other parties

The Congress is likely to seek support from the Bahujan Samaj Party which bagged 6 seats, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) who won 2 seats and other parties who have secured seats in the state assembly elections.

The Congress party is very adamant on winning and is likely to court the independent candidates in order to form the government.

2018-12-1211:12 (IST)

RLD leader extends support to Congress in Rajasthan

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader of Rajasthan, Jayant Sinha has offered support to Congress.

"I am happy that the public has given a clear mandate in Rajasthan, for a stable Govt, our MLA will extend support to the Congress. BJP ran a negative campaign, UP CM came and talked of Ali and Bajrangbali instead of issues of farmers ", he said.

2018-12-1211:07 (IST)

Ramkesh Meena wants Ashok Gehlot to be the next CM

Ramkesh Meena, an independent candidate of Gangapur constituency has asked Congress to make Ashok Gehlot the next CM of Rajasthan.

"Our demand is that Congress leadership takes the decision keeping in mind upcoming Lok Sabha elections and the right decision will be to make Ashok Gehlot the CM."

The Congress in Rajasthan at 99, is a shot away from gaining a majority.

2018-12-1211:00 (IST)

Mayawati offers support to Congress

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader Mayawati has offered support to the Congress in the states of Rajasthan and Madhyaa Pradesh.

She said that the party would do all it can to stop the BJP from coming to power in any of the three heartland states where assembly elections have been held.

2018-12-1210:56 (IST)

Congress to hold meeting today

The newly-elected Congress legislators will meet on Wednesday morning to discuss who would be the chief minister.

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has sent an observer, KC Venugopal to the state.

Congress chief Sachin Pilot and party senior member Ashok Gehlot have remained silent on who will become the next CM of Rajasthan.