sachin tendulkar

The Pro Kabaddi League 2017 season is set to be something that we have never seen before. The timeline of the competition, scheduled for a July start, is three months, but it will feature more than 130 matches!

No other Indian franchisee league -- be it the Indian Premier League (IPL) or the Indian Super League (ISL) -- has attempted anything like this, ever.

Four teams have been added to the existing eight teams and Indian cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar, who is also the co-owner of ISL side Kerala Blasters, has invested on a Pro Kabaddi team from Chennai.

The auction for the 12 teams takes place Monday May 22, and we can't but feel that the top raiders, defenders and all-rounders may be looking at relishing being a part of Tendulkar's team. 

"I enjoyed a lot of support from Chennai during my playing days. The city is dear to me," mentioned the cricket legend.

"If my presence helps the league (in increasing its profile), I will be happy about that."

Top 10 players going under the hammer in the auction: 

  • Mohit Chhillar
  • Manjeet Chhillar
  • Fazel Atrachali
  • Rishank Devadiga
  • Rohit Kumar
  • Rajesh Narwal
  • Shabeer Bapu
  • Jasvir Singh
  • Rakesh Narwal
  • Fazel Atrachali
pro kabaddi

Pro Kabaddi League 2017 teams: At a glance

Team name City  Owners / Co-owner
Patna Pirates Patna, Bihar Rajesh V Shah
Jaipur Pink Panthers Jaipur, Rajasthan Abhishek Bachchan
U Mumba Mumbai Ronnie Screwvala
Dabang Delhi Delhi Radha Kapoor
Telugu Titans Hyderabad Veera Sports
Puneri Paltan Pune Insurekot Sports
Bengaluru Bulls  Bangalore Kosmik Global Media
Bengal Warriors Kolkata Kishore Biyani
TBD Chennai Sachin Tendulkar
TBD Uttar Pradesh  GMR Group
TBD Haryana  JSW Group
TBD Gujarat Adani Group

Pro Kabaddi League 2017 auction: At a glance

Retained players:

Team Player
Telugu Titans Rahul Chaudhari
Patna Pirates Pardeep Narwal
Bengaluru Bulls Ashish Sangwan
U Mumba Anup Kumar
Bengal Warriors Jang Kun Lee
Dabang Delhi Meyraj Sheykh
Puneri Paltan Deepak Hooda
Jaipur Pink Panthers None