The Rio 2016 Paralympics are scheduled to take place from Sept. 7-18. In picture: People walk next to the Paralympic symbol, displayed at Copacabana beach ahead of the 2016 Rio Paralympic games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, September 2, 2016.Reuters

Just like at the Rio Olympics, India has now sent its largest-ever contingent of athletes in the history of the Paralympic Games. The Rio Paralympics will see as many as 19 athletes from the country.

India has won a total of eight medals (two golds, three silvers and three bronzes) over 12 Paralympics and that straightaway gives us a lot of hope to see more medals this year.

"The people of India will be enthusiastically cheering for our athletes representing India at the Rio 2016 Paralympics, starting 7th Sept," tweeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi. "We all wish our contingent for the Rio 2016 Paralympics the very best. I am sure our athletes will give their best & make us proud," he added.

The 19 differently-abled athletes from India will compete in over five sports disciplines -- athletics, swimming, shooting, powerlifting and archery.

Deepa Malik, one of the most inspirational athletes from the country, unfortunately not many know of, is hoping to making that impact in the Paralympics 2016, which she has always wanted to make. "If you take Sakshi out of Malik and Karmakar out of D(i)eepa then you are left with Deepa Malik! And I think I have a very lucky name," the 45-year-old, who is an accomplished swimmer, adventure sports player, international athlete, biker, as well as an entrepreneur was quoted by Huffington Post.

"It's been a very difficult journey for all us [paralympians]," she added, "but we are determined to make India proud."

Here are the list of Paralympians to represent India in Paralympics 2016:

Athlete Sports event
Mariyappan Thangavelu High jump
Varun Singh Bhati High jump
Sharad Kumar High jump
Rampal Chahar High jump
Pooja Archery
Sundar Singh Gurjar Javelin throw
Devendra Jhajaria Javelin throw
Rinku Javelin throw
Narender Ranbir Javelin throw
Sandeep Javelin throw
Amit Kumar Saroha Club throw
Dharambir Club throw
Deepa Malik Shot put
Naresh Kumar Sharma Shooting
Suyash Narayan Jadhav Swimming
Basha Farman Powerlifting
Ankur Dhama 1500 m
Virender Dhankar Javelin throw, Shotput
Karamjyoti Dalal Discus throw