(representatinal image) Rajesh Chauhan was once part of the Indian team.Reuters

After conceding defeat in the first One Day International (ODI), Zimbabwe will take on India in the second game of the five-match bilateral series 2013 on Friday. The match will be played at Harare Sports Club, Harare.

The game will begin at 01:30 PM IST on Friday and it will be broadcast live in India on Ten Cricket. 


Zimbabwe will come into the contest after conceding defeat to depleted Indian team by six wickets in the first match. They will be looking forward to win at least a couple of games in the five-match series.

India won the first match of the series convincingly despite the absence of skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and three other key bowlers. The young squad led by Virat Kohli will be keen to win the remaining matches and not let complacency kill the spirit of the game.

Previous Meetings:

India have 40-10 win-loss and two tie record against Zimbabwe in 52 meetings. India defeated Zimbabwe in the first match of the series.

Team News:

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza scored 82 (six fours and a six) and Vusi Sibanda scored 34 in the first match. The middle order collapsed until Elton Chigumbura added some quick runs, blasting 43 from 34 balls to take the total to 228. The openers will be expected to perform again in the remaining matches and the middle order should contribute with their bats.

On the bowling front, Prosper Utseya took three wickets while Kyle Jarvis and Elton Chigumbura took a wicket apiece. They need to take wickets at regular intervals to restrict the score of the opponents.

India: Skipper Virat Kohli led from the front by scoring 115 runs while Ambati Rayudu scored 63. Openers - Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan will be expected to give a good start and provide for middle order to add some quick runs.

On the bowling front, Amit Mishra was the star in the previous match, taking three crucial wickets. Vinay Kumar, Shami Ahmed, Jaydev Unadkat and Suresh Raina also took a wicket apiece each.


Zimbabwe will be keen to bounce back but India look formidable at the moment. Kohli and boys should win the second match too.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (c), Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chatara, Michael Chinouya, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Kyle Jarvis, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Natsai M'shangwe, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

India: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parveez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma