Pakistan, South Africa
Pakistan's Mohammad Hafeez plays a shot during the second Twenty20 cricket match against South Africa in Cape TownReuters

South Africa and Pakistan will enter a three-match ODI series, after the two-game T20 series was tied 1-1. The first ODI will be played at Newlands, Cape Town on Sunday.

Where to Watch Live:

The match will begin at 2.30 pm IST (9:00 am GMT) and will be telecast live on Super Sport 2 and Ten Cricket. For live streaming, log on to Super Sport official website.


South Africa come into the contest after a 4-1 ODI series win against Pakistan in the recently concluded UAE series. They lost the previous T20 match, letting the visitors level the series, but they are expected to bounce back and do well in the ODIs.

Pakistan, on the other hand, will be happy after winning the second T20 match by six runs on Thursday, despite suffering a humiliating defeat in the recent ODI series. They will be keen to take revenge for the series loss at UAE.

Previous Meetings:

South Africa have a 46-21 win-loss record over Pakistan in the 68 ODIs played so far.

Team News:

Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Irfan remains sidelined due to an injury, while Wahab Riaz was dropped following his dismal performance in the UAE. Fast bowler Anwar Ali and all-rounder Bilawal Bhatti have made it to the squad.

Veteran all-rounder Jacques Kallis, who has been away from ODIs for about one-and-a-half years, has returned to the squad. His inclusion has cost F du Plessis the spot. Test captain Graeme Smith has also returned to the squad, after recovering from an injury.


South Africa have a strong batting line-up in AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock and JP Duminy and the inclusion of experienced players like Kallis and Smith have strengthened the look of the squad.

Dale Steyn will lead the bowling department, along with Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Ryan McLaren Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Kallis and Imran Tahir.

Pakistan will be haunted by their poor performance in their recent ODI series which was marred by batting collapse. However, Mohammad Hafeez (63) and Umar Akmal (64) hinted at a return of form in the second T20, which they won by six runs. With Misbah-ul-Haq, Shahid Afridi, Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shehzad in the line-up, they are, no doubt, a strong team.

In Irfan's absence, bowlers like Sohail Tanvir, Anwar Ali, Shahid Afridi, Bhatti and Saeed Ajmal will take the charge.

Considering the composition and recent performances of the teams, South Africa will come into the contest as favourites, as they have a more balanced squad.


South Africa are expected to win.


South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohail Tanvir, Anwar Ali, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Nasir Jamshed, Asad Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti.