(representatinal image) Rajesh Chauhan was once part of the Indian team.Reuters

Hosts Zimbabwe will take on India in the first game of the five-match One Day International (ODI) bilateral series 2013 on Wednesday. The match will be played at Harare Sports Club, Harare.

The game will begin at 01:30 PM IST on Wednesday and it will be broadcast live in India on Ten Cricket. 


India come into the series after winning Champions Trophy in England and Celkon Mobile Cup Tri-Series in West Indies. They are currently No.1 in the ICC ODI ranking.

On the other hand, Zimbabwe are at No.10 in the ICC ODI ranking. They are minnows with no big names but capable of surprising fancied teams. They defeated India in two matches played in 2010.

Previous Meetings:

India have 39-10 win-loss and two tie record against Zimbabwe in 51 meetings. Zimbabwe defeated India in their last two meetings in a tri-series featuring Sri Lanka.

Team News:

Zimbabwe: Skipper Brendon Taylor, Sean Williams, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda and Malcolm Waller form the top batting line-up of the team. Taylor averages 46 against India, scoring 184 runs in four games, and his performance will be crucial in the series.

They have dropped fast bowlers Shingi Masakadza and Tinashe Panyangara, and wicketkeeper Regis Chakabva from the squad. Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Brian Vitori, Elton Chigumbura and Michael Chinouya will lead the bowling attack.

India: Virat Kohli will lead the team with seasoned captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni being rested for the series. Batsmen Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane have made it to the squad. Indian batting still looks strong with Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina and a few youngsters in the line-up.

Key bowlers - Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar -have been replaced by Jaydev Unadkat, Parvez Rasool and Mohit Sharma. They also have Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Shami Ahmed and Vinay Kumar in the bowling attack.


Zimbabwe have been practicing hard for this series for the last couple of months but India are in good form and will enter the contest as the favourites to win.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (c), Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chatara, Michael Chinouya, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Kyle Jarvis, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Natsai M'shangwe, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

India: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parveez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma