India, West Indies
India's Shikhar Dhawan prepares to hit out watched by West Indies' Charles during the ICC Champions Trophy group B match at The Oval cricket ground in LondonReuters

Having completed the two-match Test series, India and West Indies will play three one-day internationals (ODI) starting Thursday. The opening match will be played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi on Thursday. [READ: India vs West Indies Live Streaming Information and Preview]

Where to Watch Live:

The first ODI match will begin at 1:30 pm IST on Thursday and will be telecast live in India on Star Sports1, Star Sports 3 and Star Sports HD1. For live streaming, log on to Star Sports official website. To catch the match by live streaming online in the U.K., click HERE. You can catch the match Live online in the U.S., by clicking HERE.


India will come into the contest after a 2-0 whitewash against the Caribbeans in the Test series dubbed as Sachin Tendulkar's series, as he retired from cricket after his 200th Test match. India gave him a befitting farewell by winning both the contests. Now, they are set to get into shorter format of the game, looking for the same.

It won't be easy for MS Dhoni's boys to change gears, but having played five ODIs (seven-match series was reduced to five due to rain) against Australia just before getting into this series, and having won the thrilling contest 3-2, they will be confident when they take the field on Thursday.

On the other hand, West Indies' ODI outing this year has been forgettable, winning only seven of the 20 matches played. Their last series win was against Zimbabwe earlier this year. Their performance away from home is even worse. However, they have match-winning players who can turn the course of a game, and they can beat any team on their day. They will be keen to avenge the humiliating Test series loss with an ODI series win. So, this series could turn into an exciting one unlike the recently-concluded Test series.

Previous Meetings:

West Indies and India have 58-48 win-loss, one tied and two no result record in 109 ODIs played till date. India won 4-1 in their last series.

Team News:

Following a forgettable outing against Australian in the recent ODI series, Ishant Sharma was dropped. Mohit Sharma will replace him in this series. Ravindra Jadeja, who missed the Test series due to injury, will return to the side.

Dwayne Bravo will lead the West Indies, replacing Darren Sammy. All-rounder Kieran Pollard will miss the series after due to an injury.


India's batting line-up looks intimidating with Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dahawn turning into solid openers, followed by the likes of Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh and Dhoni. Rohit smashed a double century in the recent series against Australia. Yuvraj's form is in question but he is expected to bounce back this series.

On the bowling front, India have Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma and Jaydev Unadkat in pace department while Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra form the spin duo.

West Indies under the captaincy of Dwayne Bravo will try to forget the Test series and concentrate on the shorter version of the game. All eyes will be on Chris Gayle, whose exploits in the Indian Premier League, had won matches for his club. He will be expected to attack the Indian bowlers. The visitors also have its skipper, Lendl Simmons, Kieran Powell, Narsingh Deonarine, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels and Denesh Ramdin in the batting line-up.

Spinner Sunil Narine will lead the bowling attack along with Tino Best, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels and Narsingh Deonarine.

However, looking at the overall composition of both the teams and their recent performance, India look a stronger team. In fact, it will be a herculean task for the visitors to win the series, especially after a forgettable Test series.


India are the favourites to win.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ambati Rayudu, Amit Mishra, Jaydev Unadkat, R Vinay Kumar, Mohit Sharma.

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons.