"The Dirty Picture"
"The Dirty Picture" film posterOfficial site

Iconic Bengali actor Soumitra Chatterjee will receive the top honour in Indian cinema - Dada Saheb Phalke Award - for the year 2011 at the 59th National Film Awards function to be held at New Delhi's Vigyan Bhawan, Thursday.

The 77-year-old-actor made his debut in 1959 in Satyajit Ray's "Apur Sansar" and later acted in 14 of his films. In the career spanning more than five decades, Chatterjee acted in more than 400 films. Some of his notable films include "Apur Sansaar", "Devi", "Khudito Pashan", "Teen Kanya", "Abhijan", "Charulata", "Kapurush", "Akash Kusum", "Aranyer Din Ratri", "Ashani Sanket", "Sonar Kella", "Joi Baba Felunath", "Hirak Rajar Deshe", "Ghare Baire", "Ganashatru", "Shakha Proshakha", "Padakshep", "Ballyngunge Court" and "Angshumaner Chhobi."

The award would be presented to the veteran actor by Vice President Mohammad Hamid Ansari, said a release by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

Top Honour Highlights:

In the Feature Film category: The Best Film will be shared by directors Umesh Vinayak Kulkarni's film "Deool" (Marathi), Suveeram's "Byari" (Byari language). The award carries Swarna Kamal and cash prize of Rs. 2,50,000.

In non-feature film category: The award goes to "And We Play On" (Hindi & English)directed and produced by Pramod Purswane. The award carries Swarna Kamal and Cash prize of Rs. 1,50,000.

In Best Writing on Cinema category: The Swarna Kamal goes to the book, titled "R.D. Burman - The Man", written by Anirudha Bhattacharjee and Balaji Vittal. Manoj Barpujari from Assam will the Best Film Critic award.

In Feature Film category: Five films have won three awards each. These Films are "The Dirty Picture" (Hindi), "Balgandharva" (Marathi), "Anhe Ghorey Da Daan" (Punjabi), "Deool" (Marathi) and "Ranjana Ami Ar Ashbo Na" (Bengali).

Six films have won two awards each. These are "Chillar Party" (Hindi), "Azhagarsamiyin Kuthirai" (Tamil), "Aaranyakandam" (Tamil), "Phijigee Mani" (Manipuri), "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" (Hindi) and "Game" (Hindi).

The Best Actor Awards: Actors Girish Kulkarni and Vidya Balan will be given the Best Actors awards for their films "Deool" (Marathi) and "The Dirty Picture" (Hindi) respectively.

Wholesome Entertainment: Tamil film "Azhagarsamiyin Kuthirai"

Best Children Film Award: "Chillar Party" (Hindi)

Best Director Award: Gurvinder Singh for Punjabi film "Anhe Ghorey Da Daan"