Modi's swearing-in ceremony, in New Delhi
Indian Prime Minister-designate Modi walks at the Mahatma Gandhi memorial after paying the flower tribute at Rajghat ahead of his swearing-in ceremony, in New DelhiReuters

The stage is set for the grand occasion when the Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi will be sworn-in a massive, never-before-seen, ceremony in the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Earlier in the day, the official list of Modi's council of ministers was sent to the Rashtrapati Bhavan. According to a report by NDTV, several BJP leaders have begun getting calls from the President's Office, possibly indicating that they could be the part of the team.

Guest List:

There are over 4000 guests invited for the grand swearing-in, from various countries across the globe. However, the focus on Monday's ceremony will be the 8 delegations from India's immediate neighbors and SAARC countries.

Here are the eight leaders invited for the occasion, listed by the Minister of External Affairs, as per India's Protocol Order:

  1. President Hamid Karzai (Afghanistan)
  2. President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom (Maldives)
  3. President Mahinda Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka)
  4. Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay (Bhutan)
  5. Prime Minister Dr. Navinchandra Ramgoolam (Mauritius)
  6. Prime Minister Sushil Koirala (Nepal)
  7. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif (Pakistan)
  8. Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury (Bangladesh)

Apart from the SAARC country leaders, BJP Overseas Affairs has said that 75 of the 90 foreign dignitaries it invited from across the world have confirmed their presence for the ceremony.

Among others, dignitaries from Norway, Russia, Ukraine, Nigeria, Kenya, Taiwan, Guyana, Denmark Israel, Australia, and Hong Kong, will attend the grand show.


Modi, in a series of tweets and a Facebook post his laid out some of the activities he planned for Monday.

As he stated in his posts, he began the day by visiting Raj Ghat and paying his respects to Mahatma Gandhi.

"Great having leaders from SAARC nations & Mauritius join us during the ceremony. Their presence will make the occasion more memorable. I welcome the step by Sri Lanka & Pakistan to release our fishermen. I welcome our fishermen brother back home!" he said.

Details of how the ceremony will exactly be carried out, has not been released yet.

Sign Language

For the first time ever, sign language interpretation would be made available at the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi.

As many as three sign language interpreters will be on duty during the occasion to ensure that the details of the oath-taking is made available to as many as 18 million deaf citizens of India.

"It has been a long standing demand on the part of the Indian disability movement that at all important public events, sign language interpretation should be made available so that deaf people are not left out," Times of India quoted Javed Abidi, Convener of the Disabled Rights Group as saying.

Tight Security

Sensing a possible Fidayeen attack, Delhi police has turned the New Delhi area into a virtual fortress from Sunday evening, imposing prohibitory orders throughout the area ahead of Monday's swearing in ceremony.

Police has said every measure will be taken to ensure that every vehicle entering the zone is monitored.

List of ministerial probables:

According to news sources 23 cabinet member; 10 with independent charge and 11 Ministry of States are likely to be sworn in on Monday.

Here is the list of ministerial probables: 

Rajnath Singh
Arun Jaitley
Nitin Gadkari
Sadananda Gowda
Sushma Swaraj
M Venkaiah Naidu
Uma Bharti
Najma Heptullah
Gopinath Munde
Ram Vilas Paswan
Kalraj Mishra
Maneka Gandhi
Harsimrat Kaur Badal
Gajpati Raju
Anant Geete
Maneka Gandhi
Ananth Kumar
Ravi Shankar Prasad
Ashok Gajapathi Raju
Narendra Singh Tomar
Jual Oram
Thwar Chand Gehlot
Smriti Irani
Radha Mohan Singh
Harsh Vardhan