Mysuru Dussehra (Mysore Dasara), the State festival of Karnataka, has a rich history that dates back to more than 400 years. It began in the year 1610 by the Wodeyar King, Raja Wodeyar I (1578-1617 CE).

The palace will be lit up on all the 10 days of the Navratri festival. The members of the royal family as well as special invitees will attend a special durbar in the Mysore Palace during Dasara.

Dasara procession, also known as Jamboo Savari, will also be held on the streets of Mysore carrying the idol of the Goddess Chamundeshwari in a golden howdah on a decorated elephant on Vijayadashami day.

The procession will also be accompanied by colourful tableaux, music, dance, decorated elephants, horses and camels.

The Nandidhwaja pooja, Vijayadashami procession and torch light parade will take place on 23 October. Karnataka CM M Siddharamaiah is expected to perform Nandi Dhwaja between 12.07pm and 12.21pm at the Palace's Northern Gate. He will also inaugurate the Jumboo Savari between 12.30pm and 2pm inside the Palace premises.

During the Torch Light Parade, Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala will take salute at 7pm in Bannimantap ground.

Details about the procession:

23 October


  • Time : 12:07pm to 12:21pm
  • Place : Palace Balarama Gate


  • Time : 12:30pm to 2:00pm
  • Place : Palace Balarama Gate


  • Time : 7:00pm
  • Venue : Bannimantap Ground

Where to watch Mysore Dasara procession live online?

Watch it live HERE and HERE