• Mortal Kombat X
    Goro will be the pre-order bonus character.Twitter
  • Mortal Kombat X
    Mortal Kombat X will be out in 2015.Facebook
  • Mortal Kombat X
    Mortal Kombat X will be releasing on 14 April, 2015.Facebook

The release date for the next-generation fighting game Mortal Kombat X from developer NetherRealm Studios and publisher Warner Bros., has been announced.

The game will be the tenth main title in the series and the first one that will be released for next-generation consoles too.

Mortal Kombat X will be released on 14 April 2015 in a worldwide premiere. It will be available for PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One.

All retail pre-orders will receive the legendary character in the franchise, Goro as a bonus. He will be making an appearance in the franchise after a gap of eight years. Goro, is a four-armed Shokan warrior who will be playable in the game, and will be only a pre-order exclusive.

Fans have been eagerly awaiting this new instalment that will be the next after the 2011's Mortal Kombat. The upcoming game will be the "most brutal Kombat experience ever," according to Warner Bros.

Mortal Kombat X will allow, for the first time in the franchise history, to choose from different variations of a single fighter. Each variation will impact the strategies. The game will be combining the cinematic presentation with the gameplay that will deliver a powerful gaming experience.

One of the carryovers from previous games is its energy meter, which will allow players to perform the graphic X-Ray move. The energy meter has undergone some polishing for the new Mortal Kombat X.

Fighters will be able to interact with their surroundings, allowing them to use the tree branches to jump or can use stones as weapons. Mortal Kombat X will feature the franchise's most brutal, Fatality finishing moves.

Each character in the game will have three different variations and will have a different set of moves in each variation. Raiden will come in Master of Storms, Displacer and Thunder God variations; Kano will come in Cutthroat, Cybernetic and Commando variations; Sub-Zero will come in Grandmaster, Unbreakable and Cryomancer variations; D'Vorah will come in Venomous, Swarm Queen and Brood Mother variations.

Mortal Kombat X will also be delivering a fully-connected experience with online contests.

Players will also be introduced to the original story of the Mortal Kombat's popular characters like Scorpion and Sub-Zero.

Some of the playable characters already released on Mortal Kombat X are Scorpion, Sub-Zero, D'Vorah, Ferra/Torr, Cassie Cage, Kotal Kahn, Raiden, Kano and Goro as a pre-order bonus.