Indian Parliament (Reuters)
Indian Parliament (Reuters)Reuters

The next immediate task before the newly appointed Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the allotment of key portfolios of the union cabinet ministries to able MPs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Modi is to sworn in as the Prime Minister on 26 May at 6 pm, along with his cabinet of ministers. Modi was given the letter of appointment as the PM of the country from President Pranab Mukherjee on Tuesday in Delhi.  

NDA is constituted by 29 alliance parties including key partners like Telugu Desam Party (TDP) from Seemandhra, Shiv Sena from Maharashtra and LJP from Bihar. Accommodating MPs of his own BJP and other NDA is not an easy task for Modi.

BJP has not yet announced in what way it will accommodate the party's senior most leader LK Advani, though he has been suggested to be entrusted with the post of Lok Sabha Speaker. But reports suggest that there is some contradiction over making Advani the Speaker. Advani has already served as a Deputy Prime Minister to Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

However, going by the BJP's show of unity at Tuesday's programmes in Delhi, where Narendra Modi was appointed as PM, one can expect that the party can form its ministry easily.

There is no dearth for able leaders in BJP. Seeking ministerial berths, MPs and leaders from BJP were seen lobbying with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) top functionaries, BJP president Rajnath Singh and Modi on Tuesday.

As per speculative media reports, Rajnath Singh is tipped to become the Home Minister. The next prominent leader in BJP is Arun Jaitley who is expected to become the next Finance Minister. The two leaders are likely to occupy a place in the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) as well.

Sushma Swaraj, former Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha, may get an important portfolio as well. She was one among those BJP leaders who opposed Modi for the PM post initially. However, it is said that she is certain to get some important ministry like HRD, Health or External Affairs.

Senior leader from South M Venkaiah Naidu, who handled Agriculture portfolio in the previous Vajpayee government, may get the same ministry this time also.

Another senior most leader of BJP, Murli Manohar Joshi may be appointed as the Lok Sabha Speaker. Nitin Gadkari, former party president from Nagpur, may get Surface Transport Ministry, HN Ananth Kumar, a six-time MP from Bangalore may be given Parliamentary Affairs Ministry. In the past he was the Union Urban Development Minister.

BJP's familiar face Ravi Shankar Prasad may be given the Law Ministry. Rajiv Pratap Rudy, a former professional from aviation industry, may get the Aviation Ministry. Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, a prominent Muslim leader from the party may get Minority Affairs Ministry. Former Finance Minister Yeshwant Sinha might be the Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.

BJP has to accommodate MPs from its NDA allies. LJP's Ram Vilas Paswan is likely to get Infrastructure or Natural Resource related ministry.

Meanwhile, TDP, which is another key alliance partner in NDA decided to join the Modi-led government late on Tuesday.