Melon Music Awards
Watch Melon Music Awards 2016 online as EXO, BTS, Seventeen and other K-Pop idols gear up to performYoutube/Screenshot

Melon Music Awards 2016 winners has been announced at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul on Saturday, November 19. South Korean-Chinese boy band EXO bagged four awards beating its global competitor BTS in the seventh annual event.

While Twice received the best song of the year award, Black Pink received the best new artist of the year award and Hong Jin Young became the best Korean trot singer. The top 10 artists of the year include Red Velvet, Twice and BewhY.

The star-studded event kicked off with the red carpet arrivals at 6pm EST, wherein many of the popular artists from the Korean music industry performed on-stage in front of a large crowd. The performers of the night include Apink singer Jung Eunji and Sechs Kies.

The award ceremony was presented by Kakao in association with Leon Entertainment and its online music store Melon. The event was organised to acknowledge the talented singers of the Korean music industry who rose to fame this year.

Here is the complete list of winners of Melon Music Awards 2016:

  • Best Artist of the Year Award – EXO
  • Best Album of the YearAward – BTS
  • Best Song of the Year Award – TWICE
  • Best New Artist Award – BLACKPINK
  • Netizen Choice Award – EXO
  • Hot Trend Award – Block B's Zico
  • Ballad Award – Female: Apink's Jung Eunji, Male: Lim Chang Jung
  • Dance Award - Male: EXO, Female: GFRIEND
  • Rap/Hip-hop – Zico
  • Trot – Hong Jin Young
  • Indie – Bolbbalgan4
  • Folk/Blues – 10cm
  • Best OST – Yoon Mirae
  • Music Video Award - Red Velvet
  • MBC Music Star Award - SEVENTEEN
  • Kakao Hot Star Award - EXO
  • Tencent QQ Music Asia Star Award - iKON
  • Hall of Fame - Sechs Kies