Marvel Studios
Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans and Chadwick Boseman at the Marvel Studios announcement functionTwitter/ Robert Downey Jr

Marvel Studios has finally announced the list of movies it has planned for the next five years, ending weeks of speculation.

The company announced eight major films for Phase 3 at a starry event held at the El Captain Theatre in Hollywood.

Here are the eight films announced by Marvel.

Captain America: Civil War

The announcement of the third film in the "Captain America" series was welcomed with loud roar and cheers, when the lead actors of the film appeared together.

Chris Evans will reprise the role of Captain America, while Robert Downey Jr will enter series as Tony Stark and Iron Man, assuring fans that the project will be the ultimate super hero vs super hero film. The film will be directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, who directed "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" (2014). The movie is scheduled to release on 6 May 2016.

Doctor Strange

"Doctor Strange" is scheduled to hit theatres on 4 November 2016, and will be directed by Scott Derrickson. The film will deal with everything from quantum mechanics to string theory, and thereby opening a new space of the supernatural world.

Guardian of the Galaxy 2

"Guardian of the Galaxy 2" is set to hit theatres on 5 May 2017, and will be directed by James Gunn.

Thor: Ragnarok

"Thor 3" has got an official name and is scheduled to release on 28 July 2017. Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston will retain their respective roles as Thor and Loki.

Black Panther

This adventure film will hit theatres on 3 November 2017. Chadwick Boseman will appear in the role of "Black Panther". The actor will make his initial appearance for this role in "Captain America: Civil War" and will eventually move on to solo adventures.

Marvel has shown the first look conceptual art of "Black Panther", done by Ryan Meinerding.

Marvel's The Avengers: Infinity War Part 1

The third film in "The Avengers" series has been announced and will be released in two parts. The first part is scheduled for release on 4 May 2018. The film is said to be the beginning of the conclusion of the story of everything that has happened before in the series.

Captain Marvel

"Captain Marvel" is going to be a landmark film in the history of Marvel Studios as it is going to be the first female-led project from the company. Though the character has a prominent role in the comic world, this will be the first time that she will be seen on the big screen. The lead actress has not been decided yet but this film is scheduled to hit screens on 6 July 2018.


"Inhumans" is scheduled to hit theatres on 2 November 2018. Marvel Studio expects the project to spark a new film franchise in the near future. The supernatural characters are set in an amazing social structure and possess nearly a dozen powers.

Marvel's The Avengers: Infinity War Part 2

The final installment in "The Avengers" series will see the clash of super powers that will end in the war of infinity. The film is scheduled to hit theatres on 3 May 2019.