Union textiles minister Kavuri Sambasiva Rao resigned on 3 April, protesting the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh state. Rao submitted his resignation to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Rao is the member of Lok Sabha, representing the Eluru parliamentary constituency of coastal Andhra Pradesh. Rao was elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time in 1989, then in 2004 and again in 2009. He has also served in several standing committees of the Parliament. 

Rao made it clear that he would not contest the ensuing election to Lok Sabha on a Congress ticket. After resigning, he told the media that no decision has been taken by him on whether to remain in Congress or not. He said that the division process of AP pained him.

Rao, who has been with the Congress for 30 years, said that the party high command did not heed to the suggestions he made, to follow in the division process of the state. He was appointed as the Union textiles minister on 17 June 2013.

In the wake of the Parliament passing the bill to create a separate state of Telangana, several MPs have quit Congress party. Another union minister, D Purandeswari, resigned to her ministry and primary membership of the ruling Congress, before joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), citing the procedure the Congress pursued in dividing the state as reason. 

Recent reports indicate that Rao tried to join the Telugu Desam party (TDP) but his move was vehemently opposed by the TDP's leaders in the West Godavari district. Now, he is speculated to join the BJP.          

Meanwhile, reacting to the minister's resignation, Union rural development minister Jairam Ramesh said that Rao quit the cabinet only to safeguard his business. Rao has backstabbed the party, Ramesh said. 

In another development, TDP leader and senior Telugu actor Murali Mohan was arrested by the police in West Godavari district for violating the election code of conduct. The police held him for holding an election rally in Dwaraka Tirumala on 29 March without taking proper permission. Later, he was presented before the Bhimadolu court. The actor is to contest to the Lok Sabha from the Rajahmandry constituency.

(Edited by Vishnuprasad S Pillai)