Political parties in Andhra Pradesh (AP) see the election results of local bodies - municipalities and city corporations - in the state as a spectrum to the state Assembly and Lok Sabha polls, results of which will be out on 16 May. As per the media reports, Congress did very poor in Seemandhra in the local bodies' elections. 

Amid severe protests in Seemandhra, Telangana was announced by the Congress-headed UPA government at the Centre. The new state is to be carved out from Andhra Pradesh on 2 June. The wiping out of Congress in the local bodies' elections indicate the people's anger in the Seemandhra region, say media reports. 

As per the poll results to the local bodies in Seemandhra or the residual AP, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has bagged 64 of the total 92 municipalities. YSRCP has won in 23 municipal corporations in Seemandhra. A hung status has been reported in six municipalities in the region. 

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP has won 19 local bodies in Seemandhra, including the Kadapa municipal coporation. TDP has won Proddatur, Badwel, Jammalamadugu and Mydukur municipalities in the Seemandhra area.

In Telangana, Congress has won 22 of the total 53 municipalities. The Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), which claims as the crusader for the achievement of Telangana state, trails with just 11 municipal seats.

Buoyed with the results in Telangana, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president Ponnala Lakshmaiah stated that the poll results of the local bodies will recur in the results of Assembly and Lok Sabha election, which concluded in two phases in AP on 30 April and 7 May.

Ponnala expressed confidence that Congress will form the new state government on its own in Telangana, to be carved out from AP as the 29th state of India.

TRS, which claimed 100 percent victory in the local bodies' elections, has fallen to third place, Ponnala commented. TDP has won only four municipal bodies and other parties have won 16 seats of the local bodies in Telangana, according to media reports.