Goa CM Manohar Parrikar
Manohar Parrikar quits as Goa Chief Minister.Reuters file

Panaji: Laxmikant Parsekar was sworn in as the Goa Chief Minister (CM) on Saturday after Manohar Parrikar stepped down from the post earlier in the day.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) decided to overlook deputy chief minister Francis D'Souza for the position despite D'Souza having threatened to quit the party if he was not made Goa CM. D'Souza will continue to serve in his current position.

Parsekar will be Goa's 11th chief minister.

His candidature was also endorsed by the BJP's parliamentary board, party sources said.

Parrikar resigned from office after his elevation to the Union Cabinet, possibly as defence minister.

(With inputs from IANS)