The Kerala State Film Awards 2014, which was announced on August 10, Monday, has as usual, invited controversies and trolls. The jury, headed by John Paul, has been criticised by many for giving the prestigious awards to upcoming stars.

Kerala State Film Awards 2014 Full Winners' List

Many were of the opinion that instead of appreciating notable performances by actors like Mammootty in "Munnariyippu", Fahadh Faasil in "Iyobinte Pusthakam" and Jayasurya in "Apothecary", the jury selected Nivin Pauly as the Best Actor for his roles in "Bangalore Days" and "1983".

The jury is also facing the heat for selecting 20-year-old Nazriya Nazim as the best actress, instead of considering veteran actress Manju Warrier for her comeback film "How Old Are You". Manju had won several Best Actress awards from popular award shows like the Asianet Film Awards 2015 and Vanitha - Cera Film Awards.

However, Manju congratulated all the award winners, especially Nazriya, referring her as her younger sister.

Celebs Congratulate State Film Award Winners

Meanwhile, soon after Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, State Minister for Forest Transport, Sports, Environment, and Cinema, announced the winners of the awards, social media platforms were flooded with memes targeting the jury as well as the minister. The minister became the butt of jokes for mispronouncing the names of some of the winners. 

  • Kerala State Film Awards 2014 MemesFacebook
  • Kerala State Film Awards 2014 MemesFacebook

Meanwhile, there were a few celebrities, like Meera Nandan, Joy Mathew and others, who raised questions about the jury's decision.

Check out some celebrity responses below:

I'm really happy for Nivin, Nazriya, abrid shine n all other state award winners. Congratulations to them. But would...

Posted by Meera Nandan on Tuesday, 11 August 2015

Joy Mathew's Facebook post after the declaration of Kerala State Film Awards 2014Joy Mathew/Facebook