DarshanFacebook/ Darshan Thoogudeepa Shrinivas

After much delay, Karnataka State Film Awards for the year 2012 were announced on Monday in Bangalore.

The Best Actor award goes to Darshan for his role in "Kranthi Veera Sangoli Rayanna" and Nirmala Chennappa is chosen as the Best Actress for her role in the film "Tallana", which bagged the Best Film award.

K. C. N Chandrashekhar, the chairman of the State Film Awards Selection Committee announced the winners list. A total of 58 films were contesting for the top honours.

M. Bhaktavatsala will receive Dr Rajkumar Award, a lifetime achievement given to leading personalities for the all-round development of Kannada film industry. He will be given a cash prize of ₹2 lakh and a gold medal.

Chi Dattaraj will receive the Puttana Kanagal Award, a lifetime achievement award for the Kannada director for his immense contribution to the industry and will also be bestowed with ₹2 lakh and a gold medal.

Dr Vishuvardan Award, the lifetime achievement award to leading personalities for different sectors of Kannada industry will be given to senior director Rajesh. 

Meanwhile, "Karanika Shishu" is selected as the Best Film for Social Concern and "Konjavaram", a Banjara language film has bagged the award for the Best Regional Film.

A Special Jury Award will be given to Ravi Verma for choreographing fights for the film "Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna".

The Information Minister Roshan Baig also announced that the committee will make sure that the awards are given at the right time from next year onwards.

The selection committee for 2013 State Awards are yet to be finalised and the date of 2012 Award ceremony will be finalised after discussing with Chief Minister Siddaramaiah.

Here is the list of winners for Karanataka State Film Awards – 2012

First Best Film "Tallanna"
Second Best Film "Bharath Stores"
Third Best Film "Edegarike"
Special Film of Social Concern "Karanika Shishu"
Best Regional Film "Konjavaram"
Best children's Film "Little Master"
Best Entertaining Movie "Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna"
Directors First Time Best Film "Alemaari"
Subbaiah Naidu Award for Best Actor Darshan for "Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna"
Best Actress Nirmala Chennappa for "Tallanna"
 Best Supporting Actor Kari Subbu for "Kalavu"
Best Supporting Actress Aruna Balaraj for "Olavina Ole"
Best Story Writer Baraguru Ramachandrappa for "Angulimala"
Best Screenplay K Y Narayanaswamy for "Kalavu"
Best Dialogue Writer M S Ramesh for "Bheema Theeradalli"
Best Cinematographer Rakesh for "Edegarike"
Best Music Director Arjun Janya for "Alemaari"
Best Editing P R Soundarraj for "Sagar"
Best Art Director Bheemeshappa for "Karanika Shishu"
Best Child Actor Anil Kumar for "Karanika Shishu"
Best Child Actress Lepana for "Sheshu"
Best Lyrisist Mallikarjun for "Ee Bhoomi Aa Bhanu"
Best Playback Singer (Male) Vasu Dixit for "Cyber Yugadol"
Best Playback Singer (Female) Anuradha Bhatt for "Little Master"
Jury Award Ravi Verma for "Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna"