Counting of votes polled in  Karnataka Gram Panchayat elections is underway amid tight security at designated places across the state. As per the latest trends, the BJP appears to be in a strong position leading with over 5,342 seats.

The Congress has secured 3,155 seats while the JDS is at the third position. The elections were held on December 22 and 27 and an average of 81 per cent voters turned up.


No party symbol, voting done manually 

Even though these polls don't take place on party symbols, all the political parties had put in efforts to ensure that the candidate supported by them wins, so as to have their hold on grassroot level politics, which may prove advantageous for them in taluk or zilla panchayat and even Assembly polls whenever they happen.

The ruling BJP had conducted a spirited campaign by launching its Gram Swaraj campaign much ahead of its rivals Congress and the JD-S with the aim of securing at least 80 per cent of the total seats. Chief Minister B. S. Yediyurappa even on Monday claimed the ruling BJP supported candidates are likely to win majority of the seats.

"According to my information, it is certain that 85-90 per cent BJP supported candidates will get elected in the gram panchayat polls," he said. 

Elections held for 91,339 seats in 5,728 gram panchayats of 226 taluks

Representational Image.Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Amid the Covid pandemic, the counting of votes for 5,728 Gram Panchayats in Karnataka that went for polls in two phases, began at 8 a.m. on Wednesday. As ballot papers were used in polls other than in Bidar district where EVMs were used, the announcement of results may get delayed, polls officials said.

There are 6,004 gram panchayats in the state but the elections were announced only for 5,762. The elections for other 242 panchayats could not be announced due to various legal issues.

Elections were held for a total of 91,339 seats in 5,728 gram panchayats of 226 taluks in the state and 2,22,814 candidates were in the fray.

Already, 8,074 candidates are elected unopposed in both phases. Poll officials said that elections were held for 43,238 seats in the first phase on December 22, while voting took place for 39,378 seats in the second phase on December 27.

While the first phase had seen a voter turnout of about 82 per cent, it was slightly less than 81 per cent in the second phase.

The results will be updated at regular intervals on the official website of the state election commission -- and