DV Sadananda Gowda (file photo)
DV Sadananda Gowda (file photo)CM's office Karnataka

The BJP high command on Saturday offered to convene state core committee and parliamentary board meetings early next week in a bid to resolve the ongoing political crisis in Karnataka's ruling BJP party.

According to sources, the Central leadership has offered to chair the meetings with the rebel faction of ministers on one condition that the ministers withdraw their resignations.

Meanwhile, in the midst of high political drama, Karnataka Chief Minister DV Sadananda Gowda has been summoned to Delhi by BJP senior leaders. Gowda will fly to Delhi on July 2 and meet the central leaders over the prevailing political juncture. His forthcoming meeting has invariably led to speculations that the party high command is considering a leadership change in the helm of Karnataka government.

The BJP top brass is reportedly seeking an end to the party crisis before the Presidential election begins on July 16.                                                           

Considering that the present situation may squelch their demands, several ministers of the saffron-party may vote in favour of Congress' Presidential Candidate Pranab Mukherjee.

The loyalist faction of former CM Yeddyurappa has been demanding for Minister of Rural Development Jagadish Shettar to replace Gowda's position as CM. The rebel faction has accused Gowda of acting at the behest of JD(S) party leaders without taking his own party ministers into confidence.

Stepping up the attack against Gowda's leadership, nine Karnataka ministers tendered their resignations on Friday. Eight of the nine ministers personally handed over their letter of resignation to the CM. Two more ministers have also announced their decision to quit citing the same reasons.

The nine ministers who submitted their resignation letters are: Jagadish Shettar, PWD minister CM Udasi, Housing Department minister V Sommanna, Medium and Major Irrigation minister Basavaraj Bommai, Medium and Major Industries minister Murugesh Nirani, Mass Education, Public Libraries, Small Savings and Lotteries minister Revu Naik Belamagi, Public Works Department minister M.P. Renukacharya and minister for agriculture, Umesh Katti.

However, Gowda has refused to accept the ministers' resignations. After a meeting with the Chief Minister in Bangalore, state BJP President K S Eshwarappa told reporters: "There is no question of accepting the resignation of the ministers."

Eshwarappa added that he has confidence that the agitated ministers will abide by any decision of party's central leadership even though he ruled out any change in state leadership.