Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa
Ranvir Shorey and last year's winner Drashti DhamiVarinder Chawla

Latest buzz doing the rounds is that actor-TV host Ranvir Shorey might be axed from the popular dance reality show "Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa Season 7."

Few days ago, TV actress Drashti Dhami of "Madhubala" fame was asked to leave the show for lack of spontaneity and for not having any chemistry with Shorey.

Drashti also confirmed on her twitter handle that she was leaving the show.

According to reports, Manish Paul who hosted the sixth season of "Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa" will be taking Dhami's place in the dance reality show.

Speculations are also rife that Shorey too will also be removed from the show. Buzz is that he might be replaced by VJ Andy, who was voted out in the latest season.

"Discussions are on at the channel. The makers were not getting the desired results from Ranvir and Drashti in comparison to last seasons' hosts, Manish Paul and Kapil Sharma. But their decision to let Drashti go was surprising as it was Ranvir who was getting more flak on social networking sites," The Hindustan Times quoted an insider. 

"Andy's name is being speculated since he has a long association with the channel. Though he was part of the same celebrity dance reality and was voted out recently, he might be a good option."

An official announcement from the makers of "Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa" is yet to come. The dance reality show is apparently the Indian version of "Strictly Come Dancing", which is aired on BBC One in the United Kingdom.

The show has celebrities displaying their dancing abilities partnering with professional dancers. The first season of "Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa" started in 2006 and the seventh season commenced on 7 June, 2014. Remo D'souza, Madhuri Dixit Nene and Karan Johar have been serving as judges since the fifth season of the dance reality show. For the seventh season, Ukrainian dance choreographer Maksim Chmerkovskiy shared the judging panel along with the other three celebrities. But, he has bid adieu to the show.

List of contestants in "Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa" season 7

1.Kiku Sharda aka Palak-choreographer Kruti Mahesh

2. Karan Tacker-choreographer Suchitra

3. Sukhwinder Singh-choreographer Bhavna

4. Purab Kohli-choreographer Mohena

5. Sophie Choudry-choreographer Deepak

6. Akshat Singh-choreographer Vaishnavi

7. Ashish Sharma-choreographer Shampa

8. Mouni Roy-choreographer Punit

9. Puja Banerjee-choreographer Rajit

10. VJ Andy-choreographer Bhavini

11. Kritika Kamra-choreographer Savio

12. Sreesanth-choreographer Sneha

13. Shakti Mohan-choreographer Tushar

Of all the 13 celebrity contestants, VJ Andy and actor Purab Kohli have been eliminated. The show is being aired on colors TV.