The voting for Bengaluru's Jayanagar Assembly constituency took place on Monday (June 11) as the polls were countermanded after N Vijayakumar passed away while campaigning for the elections last month.

The Bharatiya Janata Party fielded Vijayakumar's brother BN Prahlad Babu who contested against Congress MLA Ramalinga Reddy's daughter Sowmya Reddy. The Janata Dal (Secular) had withdrawn its candidate at the last minute as it had formed a coalition with the Congress in the newly-formed state government.

The voting for the constituency began at 7 am on Monday (June 11) and ended at 6 pm. The counting of the votes will be held on Wednesday, June 13

Here's what happened: 

  • Counting of the votes will be held on Wednesday, June 13. 
  • Voting comes to an end at Jayanagar constituency in Bengaluru.
  • 51 percent voter turnout has been recorded till 5 PM.
  • 43 percent voter turnout recorded till 3 pm.
  • 34.05 percent voter turnout recorded till 1:00 pm in Jayanagar constituency.
  • Reports have said that five BJP corporators are not happy with the fact that Vijayakumar's brother was fielded by their party. It can be speculated that the Amit Shah-led party chose Babu as they are banking on sympathy votes.
  • In 2013, BJP had won in the Jayanagar constituency with a difference of 12.312 votes.
  • Schools and colleges have been shut down in Jayanagar in view of the polls.
  • Voting had to be halted in booth no 216 due to EVM malfunction. People had to wait for 15 minutes in the queue to cast their choice.
  • The JD(S) withdrew its candidate at the last minute as it has formed a coalition with the Congress and will be supporting the later party.
Electronic Voting Machine
Voting underway in Jayanagar seat in Karnataaka's Bangalore. [Representational Image]YouTube screengrab
  • 216 polling booths have been set up in Jayanagar for voting.
  • 9.27 percent voter turnout recorded till 9:00 AM in Jayanagar constituency, reported News 9
  • 16 transgenders will also be casting their votes on Monday
  • There are a total of 2,03,184 voters in the constituency, including 1,02,668 men
  • The voting which began at 7 am will end at 6 pm