Envoys of at least 24 countries are visiting Jammu & Kashmir on Wednesday to assess the security situation and developments since the nullification of Article 370 on August 5, 2019. This is the third such visit in one and a half years.


The diplomatic delegation is being led by the European Union Ambassador, Ugo Astuto and will include members from the European Union, African and Middle Eastern countries.

The delegation also includes members of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC). The diplomatic visit to J&K is taking place at the invitation of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

List of 24 Foreign Envoys: 

Envoys of Chile, Brazil, Cuba, Bolivia, Estonia, Finland, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Portugal, EU, Belgium, Spain, Sweden, Italy, Bangladesh, Malawi, Eritrea, Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal, Malaysia, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan are visiting Srinagar and Jammu, the summer and winter capitals of the union territory.

Jammu and Kashmir

Itinerary of the delegation

  • The delegation members are scheduled to hold series of interactions with various stakeholders including the newly elected members of the district development councils (DDCs), social and political activists, some newspaper editors, officials of civil administration and the army.
  • Senior officials of the civil administration will brief the delegation about the developmental initiatives taken after the abrogation of J&K's special status while the army and officials of security agencies will brief them about the security situation in the union territory.
  • To visit the famous ski resort of Gulmarg and also go for a Shikara joy ride on the Dal Lake in Srinagar.
  • To visit winter capital Jammu on February 18 where they are scheduled to call on Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha before concluding their visit.