Arun Jaitley
India's new Defence and Finance minister Arun Jaitley inside his office at the finance ministry in New Delhi.Reuters

Chief Minister designate of residual Andhra Pradesh (AP) Nara Chandrababu Naidu is in Delhi to meet the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other key Union ministers on Friday, 30 May. Naidu is scheduled to meet Modi at 4.30 pm in the day.

In the morning, Naidu met the Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and pressed for the already promised special category status for the residual AP or Seemandhra state. Jaitley assured Naidu of full support for the development of the state, inlcuding building the new capital city.

After meeting with Naidu, Jaitley told the media that after the division of AP, there will be a resource crunch in Seemandhra, as Hyderabad goes to Telangana on 2 June. Jaitley added that when Andhra Pradesh bifurcation bill was passed in the parliament last February, BJP had raised the issue of financial support to Seemandhra.

Former prime minister Manmohan Singh had announced the special category status to the residual AP when Telangana state was announced. 

Telangana has been carved out of Andhra Pradesh with 10 districts. Residual AP will have the remaining 13 districts of Seemandhra region and the two states will share Hyderabad as joint capital for 10 years. Within this10-years, residual AP should build its own capital.

Naidu will also meet other key union ministers to discuss about implementing various pending projects. In the morning, Naidu was also scheduled to meet other ministers like Union Minister for Water Resources Uma Bharti, Union Minister of State for Planning and Statistics Rao Inderjit Singh, and Union Minister for Oil Dharmendra Pradhan. 

The Chief Minister to be is also said to be extending invitations to all union ministers and chief ministers in the country, for his swearing in ceremony. 

5 lakh people may attend Naidu's anointment

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is making all arrangements for Naidu's anointment as the first CM of residual AP.

Naidu is going take oath as the first chief minister of Seemandhra at 7.27 pm on 8 June. The oath-taking ceremony will be held at a place between Vijayawada and Guntur.

TDP is expecting Modi and about five lakh people to attend the function. NDA leaders, chief ministers, particularly of BJP-ruled states, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik are also expected to attend the function.