• Kangana Ranaut
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla
  • Jagran Film Festival 2014
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla
  • Jagran Film Festival 2014
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla
  • Jagran Film Festival 2014
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla
  • Anu Malik
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla
  • Alka Yagnik
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla
  • Rajat Kapoor
    Jagran Film Festival 2014Varinder Chawla

The closing ceremony of the fifth Jagran Film Festival was held on Sunday, 28 September at PVR Andheri, Mumbai.

The grand event marked the presence of several Bollywood biggies, including Mahesh Bhatt, Rajat Kapoor, Alka Yagnik, Ayushmann Khurrana.

Jagran Film Festival was initiated by the Jagran group five years ago, to create and spread the culture of cinema across the country. The festival showcases films in diverse genres from every corner of the world.

The fifth edition of India's only travelling film festival started on 15 September and covered various cities across the country - Mumbai, Delhi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Varanasi, Lucknow, Agra, Meerut, Gorakhpur, Dehradun, Patna, Jamshedpur, Raipur, Ranchi, Indore and Bhopal.

Several deserving Indian and international artists were honoured at the closing ceremony.

Legendary actress Asha Parekh, who ruled the industry during the 1960s, was felicitated with Lifetime Achievement Award in the closing ceremony. Parekh made her debut in "Dil Deke Dekho" (1959) and won accolades for her performance in "Teesri Manzil" (1966), "Kati Patang" (1970) and "Caravan" (1971), all of which were superhits.

Ranaut was awarded the Best Actress for her stupendous performance in the blockbuster "Queen", while Rajkummar Rao and Sanjay Mishra shared the Best Actor award for "Shahid" and "Ankhon Dekhi" respectively.

Here are the winners from the Jagran Film Festival 2014, according to Mid-Day.

Best Film: A Rainy Day

Best Direction: Shoojit Sircar for Madras Cafe

Best Actor (Male): Rajkummar Rao for Shahid and Sanjay Mishra for Ankhon Dekhi

Best Actor (Female): Kangna Ranaut for Queen

Best Debut Director: Sanjeev Gupta for Q

Best Film Critic: Sukanya Varma

Best Music: Amit Trivedi for Queen

Best Singer (Male): Gurdas Maan for Dil Vil Pyar Vyar

Best Singer (Female): Shefali Alvares for Queen

Icon of Cinema (Lifetime Achievement Award): Asha Parekh

Best Cinematography: Fasahat Khan for Children of War

Best Sound Design: Resul Pokutty and Amrit Pritam Dutta for A Rainy Day

Best Editing: Chandrashekhar Prajapati for Madras Cafe

Best Screenplay: Shafaat Khan for Dekh Tamasha Dekh

Special Jury Award: Punjab 1984

Special Mention: Pawan Malhotra for Children of War and Punjab 1984

Best Background Score: Rohit Kulkarni for Mary Kom

Best International Feature Film: Bad Hair (Spain); directed by Mariana Rondon

Special Mention: Farewell to the Moon (Netherlands); directed by Dick Tuinder

Best Short Film: Minerita; directed by Raul De La Fuente