indian super league
The first edition of the ISL started in 2014. Pictured: Club owners and representatives of sponsors and organisers take a pledge over a soccer ball replica during the emblem-unveiling ceremony of Indian Super League in Mumbai August 28, 2014.Reuters

The fixtures for the third season of the Indian Super League were announced on Friday. The tournament is scheduled to start on October 1 and the final will be taking place on December 18. Venue for the ISL 2016 final remains undecided, however.

A total of 61 games will be played across 79 days of the Indian football competition and while the league matches will be played on a home and away format, the semifinal matches will be two-legged.

Defending champions Chennaiyin FC open their campaign this time around against inaugural ISL champions Atletico de Kolkata on Oct. 2. The match will be played at the Rabindra Sarovar Stadiun in Kolkata as it was announced earlier that owing to renovation work ahead of the FIFA U-17 World Cup, the Salt Lake Stadium will be unfit to be used for competitive matches.

On the opening day, NorthEast United FC host Kerala Blasters at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati. This time around, the largest city of Assam has been selected as the venue for the opening ceremony to celebrate the rich culture of football from the region. 

One player who will definitely be snatching all the attention is Uruguay football legend Diego Forlan, who was announced as the marquee player of Mumbai City FC, ahead of ISL 2016. The side, co-owned by Bollywood actor Ranbir Kapoor, open proceedings against FC Pune City on Oct. 3 in a mouthwatering Maharashtra derby at the Balewadi Stadium in Pune. 

Check the full fixtures here.