diego forlan
Diego Forlan in action with Uruguayan club Penarol earlier this yearReuters

Indian Super League sides have announced their respective marquee players ahead of ISL 2016, which gets under way in October. NorthEast United FC take on Kerala Blasters head-to-head in the first match of the third season, which kicks off at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati.

All the franchisees had to name their marquee player by Aug. 20 and barring a few, most ISL sides have named their marquee player.

The ISL, in a statement, mentioned that all the marquee players "must be contracted under a legally binding player contract by August 20, 2016 in order to assist with the marketing of the relevant club, the league and the ISL."

"A financial sanction equivalent to the average salary of marquee players signed by other clubs may be levied by the league against any club failing to meet the August 20 2016 deadline," the league guideline stated.

This time around, a couple of new names like Uruguay football legend Diego Forlan and Northern Ireland veteran Aaron Hughes have made it to the list of the marquee names in ISL 2016. Apart from them, all the other marquee players from ISL 2015 have been retained for the upcoming edition of the Indian football competition as well.

Here is the full list of teams, their head coach and marquee players:

ISL side Marquee player  Head coach
Atletico de Kolkata Helder Postiga Jose Molina
Kerala Blasters Aaron Hughes Steve Coppell
Chennaiyin FC John Arne Riise Marco Materazzi
Mumbai City FC Diego Forlan Alexandre Henrique Borges Guimarães
Delhi Dynamos Florent Malouda Gianluca Zambrotta
FC Goa Lucio Zico
FC Pune City Eidur Gudjohnsen Antonio Habas
NorthEast United FC Didier Zokora Nelo Vingada