Katrina Kaif
Pictured: Katrina KaifReuters

UPDATE -- April 5, 4.26 p.m. IST: The opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League 2016 will be bigger than ever before. Apart from some popular Bollywood celebrities and all-girl English band TBC, American singer Chris Brown and music group "Major Lazer" will also perform at the opening ceremony of IPL 9. 

Known for his songs like "Loyal" and "With You," Chris is very excited about his India trip. "We are very excited to perform in India for the very first time... Looking forward to a crazy night of mayhem and meeting all my beautiful people in India," Chris said in a statement to Press Trust of India.

"Major Lazer" too expressed their excitement by saying, "At IPL we treat the whole city like one scene and we bring everyone out for music, food and just good energy all around. All of us in Major Lazer are excited to be back in India bringing carnival to the fans."

Original Story

The opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League 2016 will be held April 8 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and it will certainly be a glitzy affair. Like in previous years, IPL 9 will also witness some flamboyant performances by a number of Bollywood celebrities during the opening ceremony. 

Stars like Katrina Kaif, Ranveer Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez and Yo Yo Honey Singh would be seen performing on the occasion, according to PTI. The report noted that English band TBC will also enthral the audience. 

Moreover, there would be 200 dancers, mass cast performers, folk artists and percussionists to add more entertainment to the much awaited inaugural ceremony of IPL 9. "Ferriswheel is all set to put together a mad cricket party which will enliven the spirit of cricket. For the first time ever, India will see a 360 degree experience of seamless graphics and projection and state-of-the-art technology – all in one show," Ferriswheel Entertainment (organiser of the opening event) said in a press release. 

Anushka Sharma's performance during IPL 8 was much talked about due to her link-up with Royal Challengers Bangalore captain, Virat Kohli. However, the duo has reportedly parted ways now, but they still apparently share good equation. Other stars who performed in IPL last year were Hrithik Roshan, Shahid Kapoor and Farhan Akhtar, among others. 

While the IPL 9 opening ceremony will be held April 8, first match of the series is slated for April 9 that will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians and newly introduced Rising Pune Supergiants.