A still from ‘Jab Tak Hai Jaan’ movie
Shah Rukh Khan and his "Jab Tak Hai Jaan" co-star Katrina Kaif will perform at the opening ceremony of IPL 6 in KolkataReuters

Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan (SRK) is all set to enthrall the audience with his performance at the opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League 6 to be held on 2 April in Kolkata.

The superstar will be joined by his "Jab Tak Hai Jaan" co-star Katrina Kaif for her debut performance on stage in Kolkata. The Indian stars will have company from popular Hollywood rapper Pitbull. The rapper is known for his hit albums "M.I.A.M.I." (short for Money Is A Major Issue), "Rebelution", "Armando", and  "Planet Pit".

"SRK loves the city of joy and he is already very excited to perform there. Katrina will be performing there for the first time," a source said, according to Indo-Asian News Service.

"When Pitbull was told that he is being invited to perform at the opening ceremony of IPL and SRK would also be performing as well, he agreed to come within minutes."

Sharukhan's Red Chillies Entertainments Pvt Ltd has been signed as the promoter for the IPLT20 opening ceremony.  

Kolkata is hosting this year's IPL, as the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) team owned by Sharukh Khan won the trophy in 2012. As per tradition, the team which wins the previous year's league will host IPL the following year.

Last year's opening ceremony happened in Chennai. The event saw big bollywood stars like Salman Khan, Kareen Kapoor Khan and Priyanka Chopra grooving to popular songs. Actor Amitabh Bachchan recited Prasoon Joshi's poem. American pop sensation Katy Perry entertained the audience with her popular numbers including "Teenage dream."

This year's T20 edition will have nine teams including Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings X1 Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Pune Warriors India and Sunrisers Hyderabad. The Hyderabad team is the latest to join the IPL, after the cash-strapped Deccan Chargers were terminated by the IPL governing council following its failure to produce a ₹100-crore bank guarantee before the Bombay high court. The new team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, is owned and promoted by the Sun Group.

The cricket matches will begin on 3 April. The first match is between Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

To look at the entire schedule of this year's IPL season, click here.