David Warner faces a delivery from Ravi Rampaul during match 21 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Royal Challengers Bangalore and The Delhi Daredevils held at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on the 16th April 2013Photo by Ron Gaunt-IPL-SPORTZP

The Delhi Daredevils (DD) will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi on Friday. It is the 57th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013 and the second meeting for the teams.


RCB defeated DD at Bangalore in the Super Over in their previous meeting this season. This time, they will meet at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, and DD will be looking forward to avenge their previous defeat.

DD are placed at eighth position and are out of the competition, having earned only six points from 12 games played so far. They topped the table last year but their outing this year has been disappointing. They lost to Rajasthan Royals by nine wickets in their previous match. With some big hitters in the team, they can still disappoint some of the teams in the contention for the Play-Offs.

RCB are placed in the fourth position with 14 points after winning seven of the 12 games played so far. They conceded defeat to Kings XI Punjab by six wickets in their previous match. Knowing that they need to win at least two of the four remaining games to remain in the contention for a place in the Play-Offs, they will be keen to win on Friday.

Previous Meetings:

DD and RCB have met 10 times in the past and have won five matches apiece. However, RCB defeated DD in the Super Over earlier this season.

Team News:

Delhi Daredevils: Skipper Mahela Jayawardena (34) and Ben Rohrer (64) helped the team put up a total of 154 against Rajasthan Royals in the previous match but they lost the match. Other batsmen - David Warner, Virender Sehwag, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Manprit Juneja, Unmukt Chand and others - need to pull up their socks and perform if they are to start winning though they are out of the competition.

In the bowling department, they have Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Ashish Nehra and Shahbaz Nadeem. They took only one wicket in the previous match, letting their opponents to chase down the total with 13 balls to spare.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Cheteshwar Pujara (51), Chris Gayle (61) and Ab De Villiers (38) helped the team put up a total of 190 on the board in their previous match but KXIP put up a good show and defeated them. Skipper Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary and Moises Henriques are also in good form. The top order should fire again and give a good foundation to ensure a big total.

On the bowling front, they have Vinay Kumar, RP Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Ravi Rampaul, Murali Kartik and Muttiah Muralidaran. Their bowling attack is weak, and that has cost them a couple of games despite big totals. They will be expected to restrict the score of their opponents in the remaining matches.


RCB have won only one of the six away matches this season, which will worry them, but they are still the favourites to win on Friday though DD have home ground advantage.


Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Ajit Agarkar, Andre Russell, Arisht Singhvi, Ashish Nehra, CM Gautam, David Warner, Gulam Bodi, Irfan Pathan, Jeevan Mendis, Johan Botha, Kedar Jadhav, Manpreet Juneja, Morne Morkel, Naman Ojha, Pawan Negi, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Royston Dias, Siddarth Kaul, Sujit Nayak, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav, Unmukt Chand, Venugopal Rao, Virender Sehwag, Yogesh Nagar

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), AB De Villiers, Abhimanyu Mithun, Abhinav Mukund, Andrew McDonald, Arun Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Chris Gayle, Christopher Barnwell, Daniel Christian, Daniel Vettori, Harshal Patel, Jaidev Unadkat, K P Appanna, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Moises Henriques, Murali Kartik, Muttiah Muralitharan, Pankaj Singh, Prasanth Parameswaran, R Vinay Kumar, Ravi Rampaul, Rudra Pratap Singh, S Aravind, Sandeep Warrier, Saurabh Tiwary, Sheldon Jackson, Sunny Sohal, Syed Mohammad, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Vijay Zol, Zaheer Khan

Where to Watch Live

The match will begin at 8:00 pm IST and will be telecast live on Sony Set Max channel.