Sachin Tendulkar races down the track as Laksmipathy Balaji tries to run him out during match 33 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Kolkata Knight Riders and The Mumbai Indians held at Eden Gardens Stadium, Kolkata on the 24th April 2013.Photo by Jacques Rossouw-IPL-S

The Mumbai Indians (MI) will take on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Tuesday. It is the 53rd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013 and the second meeting for the teams this season.


MI and KKR have met once earlier this season at Kolkata, which the former won by five wickets. KKR will be keen to take revenge when they meet again on Tuesday.

MI are placed in the third position with 14 points after winning seven of the 11 matches played so far. They thrashed the title hopeful Chennai Super Kings by 60 runs in the previous, which will boost their confidence. They will be keen to win the next few matches as competition is stiff among the teams to make it to the Play-Offs.

KKR have eight points on the table after winning four of the 11 matches played. They are placed seventh on the table but the convincing eight-wicket win against Rajasthan Royals in the previous match must pumped in new hope to the team.

Previous Meetings:

MI have 9-2 win-loss record against Kolkata Knight Riders in their 11 meetings so far. They defeated Gambhir's men in their meeting earlier this season.

Team News:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Smith and Harbhajan Singh helped the team put up a total of 139 runs. Kieron Pollard is in good form but opener Sachin Tendulkar has failed to turn good starts into big scores.

MI bowlers did a remarkable job in their previous match against CSK, packing off one of the title contenders for just 79 runs. Mitchell Johnson and Pragyan Ojha took three wickets apiece; Lasith Malinga took two, while Harbhajan Singh and Pawan Suyal took a wicket each. They will be expected to put up a similar show in the remaining matches.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir failed again with his bat but Manvinder Bisla, Jacques Kallis and Yusuf Pathan guided the team home in the previous match, chasing down RR's 132. They also have Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan and Manoj Tiwary in the battine line-up.

On the bowling front, they have Sunil Narine, Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Rajat Bhatia, Sachithra Senanayake and Lakshmipathy Balaji. Senanayake took two wickets while Iqbal Abdulla, Bhatia, Kallis and Narine took one wicket apiece in their previous match.


Going by their performance this season, MI are the favourite to win the match against KKR on Tuesday.


Mumbai Indians: Ricky Ponting (captain), Abu Nechim Ahmed, Akshar Patel, Aditya Tare, Aiden Blizzard, Ambati Rayudu, Amitoze Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Harbhajan Singh, Jacob Oram, Jalaj Saxena, James Franklin, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Johnson, Munaf Patel, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Phil Hughes, Pawan Suyal, Pragyan Ojha, Rishi Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Suryakumar Yadav, Sushant Marathe, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (c), Brendon McCullum, Brett Lee, Debabrata Das, Eoin Morgan, Iqbal Abdulla, Jacques Kallis, James Pattinson, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Manoj Tiwary, Manvinder Bisla, Shami Ahmed, Pradeep Sangwan, Rajat Bhatia, Ryan McLaren, Ryan ten Doeschate, Sachithra Senanayake, Sarabjit Ladda, Shakib Al Hassan, Sunil Narine, Yusuf Pathan

Where to Watch Live

The match will begin at 8:00 pm IST and will be telecast live on Sony Set Max channel.