David Warner of the Delhi Daredevils drives a delivery during match 69 of the the Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2012 between The Kings X1 Punjab and The Delhi Daredevils held at the HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala, on the 19th May 2012Photo by Shaun Roy/IPL/SPORTZP

The Delhi Daredevils (DD) will take on Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi on Tuesday. It will be their first meeting in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013.


Both the DD and KXIP will take the crease after chasing down big totals in their respective previous matches.

DD registered their first win in the IPL sixth edition by beating the Mumbai Indians by nine wickets in the previous match. It came after six consecutive defeats. They will be keen to win all the upcoming games to stay in the competition. The big win against the MI will boost their confidence level.

KXIP have six points on the table after winning three of the six matches played so far. They beat the Pune Warriors India (PWI) by seven wickets in the previous match. A win with a big margin on Tuesday will give them a chance to climb up to the fourth position of the table. The will be keen to keep the momentum going.

Previous Meetings:

DD and KXIP have met 10 times in the past and have won five matches each.

Team News:

Delhi Daredevils: They put up a spectacular show in the previous match after a disappointing and forgettable outing this season. Swashbuckling Virender Sehwag finally hit the headlines by hitting 95 runs (not out) from just 57 balls, while skipper Mahela Jayawardena scored 59, helping the team to chase down 161-run target posted by MI for the lost of just one wicket. David Warner, who is in good form, spent just a few minutes at the crease in the previous match as the openers had done their homework. These big guns will be expected to give a similar performance on Tuesday as they take on the KXIP.

On the bowling front, they have Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Ashish Nehra, Johan Botha, Siddarth Kaul and Shahbaz Nadeem but their performance this season is a matter of worry for the team, as they let their opponents put up huge totals in a few games. They need to help the batsmen by restricting the total of their opponents.

Kings XI Punjab: Skipper and wicket keeper Adam Gilchrist's poor form continues but the team will take consolation on the good performance of his men. Mandeep Singh and David Miller put up a wonderful show in the previous match, helping the team chase PWI's huge total of 185 runs. David Hussey, who has been the only consistent performer in the team so far, didn't get the chance to bat in the previous match, which hints the the dept of their batting line-up. The top order needs to give a good start again to counter the DD's attacking batsmen.

They have Praveen Kumar, Azhar Mahmood, Parvinder Awana, Piyush Chawla, Ryan Harris and Manpreet Gony in the bowling line-up. They allowed the PWI to amass 185 runs in the previous match, but their overall performance this season has been impressive.


KXIP are growing from strength to strength despite the poor performance of its skipper but the DD will enjoy the support of the home crowd on Tuesday. DD are expected to please their fans with a win against KXIP.


Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Ajit Agarkar, Andre Russell, Arisht Singhvi, Ashish Nehra, CM Gautam, David Warner, Gulam Bodi, Irfan Pathan, Jeevan Mendis, Johan Botha, Kedar Jadhav, Manpreet Juneja, Morne Morkel, Naman Ojha, Pawan Negi, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Royston Dias, Siddarth Kaul, Sujit Nayak, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav, Unmukt Chand, Venugopal Rao, Virender Sehwag, Yogesh Nagar

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (C), Azhar Mahmood, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, David Hussey, David Miller, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Harmeet Singh Bansal, Luke Pomersbach, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Manpreet Gony, Nitin Saini, Parvinder Awana, Paul Valthaty, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Rajagopal Sathish, Ryan Harris, Sandeep Sharma, Shaun Marsh, Siddharth Chitnis, Sunny Singh

Where to Watch Live

The match will begin at 8:00 pm IST and will be telecast live on Sony Set Max channel.