Ross Taylor hits a ball during match 3 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Sunrisers Hyderabad and The Pune Warriors held at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on the 5th April 2013Photo by Prashant Bhoot-IPL-SP

The Pune Warriors India (PWI) went down to the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in their first match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013. They will take on each other again on Wednesday, and this time at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium, Pune.

Previous Meetings:

PWI and SRH had played against each only once, which the latter won by 22 runs. Deccan Chargers, which was replaced by SRH, had won three of four matches they played with PWI in the past.


PWI will not forget the 22-run defeat to SRH in their opening match of the IPL sixth edition when they meet again on Wednesday. They lost two more matches while winning two. The 24-run win against the two-time IPL champions, Chennai Super Kings, in the previous game will boost their confidence. Beating SRH on their home turf, Pune, will be a sweet revenge.

SRH are on the top half of the table with six points after winning three of the five matches played so far. However, the thrashing defeats to Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders will worry the think-tank, as it sends out hint that they are not consistent in their performance.

Tam News:

Pune Warriors India: Openers Aaron Finch and Robin Uthappa are turning into a dangerous pair, and their contributions were vital in the two matches they won. The team will look up to them to give a good start. Steven Smith hit 39 runs from 16 balls in the match against CSK but Ross Taylor, who took up captaincy in the absence Angelo Mathews, failed with his bat again. It will be interesting to know who will make way for Yuvraj Singh and skipper Mathews when they return to the team.

The bowlers restricted CSK to a small total in the previous match with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda and Mitchell Marsh taking two wickets apiece and Abhishek Nayar and Rahul Sharma taking a wicket each. They will expect to keep the momentum going on Wednesday.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: They do have batsmen who can hit big but none has done it so far. Parthiv Patel, Cameron White and Thisara Perera gave good contribution in the previous match which they lost to KKR. Other batsmen like Kumar Sangakkara, Hanuma Vihari and Akshath Reddy should perform too and put up a good total.

They strength of the team is no doubt their bowling. They have wicket takers in Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra and Thisara Perera, but they allowed KKR to amass 180 runs in the previous match, which is a worry. They will be keen to take early wickets and restrict their opponent from scoring at will.


The match between PWI and SRH will be a tight one and it will be like a batting side versus bowling side. However, considering their performances in the previous matches and home ground advantage, PWI has slight edge over SRH.


Pune Warriors India: Angelo Mathews (c), Aaron Finch, Abhishek Nayar, Ajantha Mendis, Ali Murtaza, Anustup Majumdar, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dheeraj Jadhav, Eklavya Dwivedi, Harpreet Singh, Ishwar Pandey, Kane Richardson, Krishnakant Upadhyay, Luke Wright, Mahesh Rawat, Manish Pandey, Marlon Samuels, Mitchell Marsh, Mithun Manhas, Parveez Rasool, Rahul Sharma, Raiphi Gomez, Robin Uthappa, Ross Taylor, Shrikant Wagh, Steve Smith, Tirumalasetti Suman, Tamim Iqbal, Udit Birla, Yuvraj Singh, Wayne Parnell

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kumar Sangakkara (C), Akshath Reddy, Amit Mishra, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Ashish Reddy, Biplap Samantray, Cameron White, Chris Lynn, Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Hanuma Vihari, Ishant Sharma, Karan Sharma, Nathan McCullum, Parthiv Patel, Prasanth Padmanabhan, Quinton de Kock, Sachin Rana, Shikhar Dhawan, Sudeep Tyagi, Thalaivan Sargunam, Thisara Perera, Veer Pratap Singh

Where to Watch Live

The match will begin at 4:00 pm IST and will be telecast live on Sony Set Max channel.