Indian Super League
Nita Ambani presents the ISL trophy, along with the marquee signings of all eight clubsISL official website

The trophy for the inaugural season of the Hero Indian Super League was revealed at a function at the Trident Hotel in BKC, Mumbai on Sunday.

FC Goa's Robert Pires, Delhi Dynamos' Alessandro Del Piero, Mumbai City's Freddie Ljungberg, Kerala Blasters' David James, Atletico de Kolkata's Luis Garcia, Chennaiyin FC's Mikael Silvestre, Pune City's David Trezeguet and Northeast United's Joan Capdevila were the players present during the unveiling of the trophy.

The glittering trophy was unveiled by Founding Chairperson of Football Sports Development Nita Ambani, with the marquee signings of all eight clubs on her side.

"We wanted to give the Hero Indian Super League a trophy that was worthy of its magnitude," said Ambani as the trophy was unveiled.

"The trophy is detailed to perfection by Indian artisans, thus exemplifying the genius of Indian artistry and world-class craftsmanship. Its 'made in India' design embodies our love and passion for this beautiful game and it equally represents our 'made for world' aspirations," she added.

Arsenal legend Ljungberg, who was the first player to speak, said that he is looking forward to playing in the Indian Super League and help Mumbai City lift the trophy.

"I have been overwhelmed by the response I have received ever since I have arrived. We are looking forward to play some good football and come December, we will hopefully have a shot at the title," Ljungberg said.

Former Manchester United defender Silvestre, who also said that he is eagerly waiting for the tournament to start, insisted that his side Chennaiyin FC need to "show good team spirit" if they want to win the title.

NorthEast United FC's Capdevila also emphasised the importance of team spirit, explaining how football is "all about the team coming together and not just individual talent".

Atlético de Kolkata's García also shared the other players' enthusiasm, saying that he was overwhelmed to see the reaction from the fans.

"I am told there is no better place to play football in India than Kolkata. Wherever we go in the city, people are waiting for the ISL to begin. We were in Kolkata for the Durga Puja and the reaction from all the fans has encouraged us no end," said the Spaniard.

FC Goa's Pirès, another Arsenal legend, expressed his delight at having joined a new adventure in a new country.

"For me, it is an adventure. I am looking forward to meeting new people and learning about a new culture."

Finally, Juventus legend Del Piero explained how he wants to be "an inspiration for young Indian footballers all over the country".

The Eight teams - Atletico de Kolkata, Mumbai City FC, Delhi Dynamos FC, FC Pune City, NorthEast United FC, Kerala Blasters FC, FC Goa and Chennaiyin FC - will compete for the title, playing a total of 61 games over a period of 70 days.

A total of 56 fixtures will be played in the league stages on a home and away basis, before the top four teams face each other in a two-legged semifinal, followed by the final on 20 December.

Atletico de Kolkata play hosts to Mumbai City FC in the opening fixture of the Hero Indian Super League, which will take place in Kolkata's Salt Lake Stadium on 12 October.