Indian Railways
Indian RailwaysReuters

The Indian Railways has announced a list of special trains to cope with the rush during the peak season, considering Holi festival is just round the corner. The special trains will run on a few routes, particularly in northern and eastern India.

The Northern Railway will run a Weekly Special train between Gorakhpur and Bandra Terminus, starting March 3 to 31 for Holi, which will be celebrated on March 23. The train from Gorakhpur to Bandra Terminus is scheduled for every Thursday, while the one from Bandra Terminus to Gorakhpur is on every Saturday, Northern Railways said in a press release.

"The Weekly Special Train will stop at Khalilabad, Basti, Gonda, Barabanki, Lucknow (NR), Kanpur Central, Kannauj, Farrukhabad, Kasganj, Hathras City, Mathura Jn., Acchnera, Bharatpur, Sawai Madhopur, Kota, Nagda, Ratlam, Godhra, Vadodara, Surat, Vapi, Virar and Borivali stations enroute in both the directions," the release stated.

Two special trains will be opened between Bhubaneswar and Patna, and Puri and Bhanjapur (Baripada) in the East Coast Railway (ECoR) zone later in March. The Bhubaneswar-Patna Holi Special Train will run on Fridays, March 18 and 25, while the Patna-Bhubaneswar train will run on Saturdays, March 19 and 26, Press Trust of India reports citing ECoR.

The Holi special trains on Bhubaneswar and Patna route will stop at Cuttack, Jajpur Keonjhar Road, Bhadrak, Balasore, Hijli, Adra, Asansol, Chittaranjan, Jasidih, Jhajha, Kiul, Mokama and Fathuha stations.

The holi special trains that started Feb. 26 on Puri and Bhanjapur route will be discontinued March 26, 2016. The Puri-Bhanjapur train will run every Friday between the above-mentioned dates and Bhanjapur (Baripada)-Puri train is scheduled for every Saturday. It will stop at Khurda Road, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Jajpur Keonjhar Road, Bhadrak, Soro, Balasore, Rupsa, Betonati and Baripada stations.

Train Names Train Numbers Source Station Departure Time Destination Station Arrival Time
Gorakhpur-Bandra Terminus Weekly Special Train 02533 Gorakhpur 7 a.m. Bandra Terminus 5.35 p.m.(next day)
Bandra Terminus – Gorakhpur Weekly Special Train 02534 Bandra Terminus 5.10 a.m. Gorakhpur 2.40 p.m.(next day)
Bhubaneswar-Patna Holi Special Train 08449 Bhubaneswar 3:30 p.m. Patna 11:40 a.m.(next day)
Patna- Bhubaneswar Holi Special Train 08450 Patna 2 p.m. Bhubaneswar 7 a.m.(next day)
Puri-Bhanjapur Special 08492 Puri 7:45 p.m. Bhanjapur 3 a.m.(next day)
Bhanjapur-Puri Special 08491 Bhanjapur 11:15 p.m. Puri 5:30 a.m.(next day)