Cheteshwar Pujara
Cheteshwar Pujara led India to a comfortable six-wicket win against Australia to complete a 4-0 series whitewashReuters

Powered by Cheteshwar Pujara's unbeaten 119, India were 307 for the loss of five wickets at stumps on the first day of the opening test against New Zealand at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday.

Pujara was unbeaten for 119, sharing a 47-run stand with skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (29 not out) at stumps on the first day. His maiden century came in 169 balls - 14 boundaries and a six.

India failed to take a good start with openers Gautam Gambhir out for just 22 runs and Virender Sehwag departing after scoring 47.

Pujara took the charge but Sachin Tendulkar was clean bowled by Trent Boult at 19. He however found a good partner in Virat Kohli who scored 58 runs. They added 125 runs for the fourth wicket and took India to a respectable total.

Doug Bracewell gave New Zealand the breakthrough by taking the wicket of Virender Sehwag, who scored a quick fire 47 runs of 41 balls. Then Trent Boult took Gambhir's wicket just a little later. He also took Sachin Tendulkar's wicket.

India will resume batting on the second day on Friday with Pujara and MS Dhoni at the crease, and five wickets in hand.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Captain), Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Kruger van Wyk, Doug Bracewell, Jeetan Patel, Chris Martin, Trent Boult.