India, South Africa
India's Umesh Yadav (2nd L) is congratulated by teammates Suresh Raina (L) and Virat Kohli (R) after dismissing South Africa's Hashim Amla during the ICC Champions Trophy group B match at Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff, Wales June 6, 2013.Reuters

India's tour of South Africa will kick off on Thursday (5 December) after the originally planned schedule was scrubbed. Two Tests and three ODIs will be played in the bilateral series that will conclude on 30 December.

The series that was first announced by Cricket South Africa (CSA) in July consisted of three Tests, seven ODIs and two T20s but it was cancelled after disagreement cropped up between CSA and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The cricket bodies later announced a series consisting of two Tests and three ODIs. The first ODI will be played at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on Thursday.

India will come into the series after beating West Indies both in Test and ODI at home, while South Africa lost to Pakistan in the recent ODI series at home. The series is expected to be an entertaining one, as both the teams boast of big hitters.

ODI Squads:

India: MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Greame Smith, Jacques Kallis, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, David Miller,  Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Vernon Philander, Imran Tahir.

Test Squads:

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kolhi, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Wriddhiman Saha, Zaheer Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha

South Africa: Yet to be announced.

India tour of South Africa 2013 match schedule, timing and results:

Date Time Match Teams Venue Match Result
Thu, 5 Dec 5:00 pm IST 1st ODI South Africa v India Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg South Africa won by 141 runs
(Match Report)
Sun, 8 Dec 1:30 pm IST 2nd ODI South Africa v India Kingsmead, Durban South Africa won by 134 runs
Wed, 11 Dec 1:30 pm IST 3rd ODI South Africa v India SuperSport Park, Centurion No result 
Wed, 18, Dec 2.00 pm  1st Test South Africa v India Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg  
Thu, 26, Dec 2.00 pm  2nd Test South Africa v India Kingsmead, Durban