Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh played a stunning innings to help India past Australia in the lone T20 international in RajkotReuters

Yuvraj Singh made a return to the Indian squad, with the selectors unable to ignore the splendid form shown by the left-hander in the past few weeks.

The selectors picked Yuvraj for the lone T20 match and the first three ODIs against Australia at home.

Yuvraj played his last ODI against England in January 2013 in Dharamsala and was not a part of India's triumphant Champions Trophy team.

The left-hander also did not make the squad for the West Indies series, while the selectors chose to give the youngsters a chance in the tour of Zimbabwe.

However, following extensive fitness work in France with famous trainer Tim Exeter along with Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj came back in peak condition and more importantly showed some good form with the bat.

He made a tremendous return to cricket in India with a stunning 123 for India A against West Indies A, and followed up that innings with a couple more solid knocks.

Yuvraj also made an impression for India Blue, helping them to the NKP Salve Challenger Series title, leading to the selectors deciding to give the 31-year-old a chance.

Umesh Yadav was surprisingly omitted, despite the selectors naming five fast bowlers in the squad, with Jaydev Unadkat getting a look in after his impressive performances in Zimbabwe.

Virender Sehwag, expectedly, was not included, with the selectors quite happy with the opening duo of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan.

Dinesh Karthik also misses out on the 15-man squad, with Ambati Rayudu handed a chance to impress ahead of the wicketkeeper-batsman.

The other players, who were a part of the Zimbabwe series, but have not made the cut, are Mohit Sharma, Parvez Rasool, Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Abhishek Nayar has to wait for his opportunity for some more time, with the selectors choosing not to pick the all-rounder, despite some great performances in the Challenger series.

India play Australia in the one and only T20 on October 10 in Rajkot, with the first ODI scheduled for October 13 in Pune.

Squad: MS Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Shami.