It was India's day, as the spirited men in blue thrashed Afghanistan 4-0 to retain the SAFF Championship title at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on Sunday.

Sunil Chhetri with team-mate
Sunil Chhetri with team-mate

India's striker Sunil Chhetri scored the first goal for India in the 70th minute after an Indian striker was brought down by Afghanistan defender.

Drama broke out after the referee pointed to the spot following the fault. Afghanistan's goalkeeper Captain Hameedullah Yousufzari was sent off from the field and Djelauldin Sharityar was shown the yellow card.

Chhetri was asked to take the spot kick again even as the crowd was celebration. He didn't disappoint by sending the ball to the back of the net again. By scoring seven goals in a single edition of the SAFF Championship, he broke IM Vijayan's record of six goals in the 97 edition.

Clifford Miranda scored another goal for India in the 77th minute and then Jeje Lalpekhlua made it 3-0 in the 79th minute. Substitute Sushil Singh sealed the game by scoring a superb goal in the extra time.

At one point of time, Afghanistan played a solid game with good ball position but the team was not the same after its captain Hameedullah Yousufzari was sent off the field.

India took advantage of the 10-men team and scored goals at regular intervals.