A fast track court, in the south Indian city of Bangalore, has convicted six people who were held responsible for the terror attack on the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), in 2005. The convictions were delivered on Saturday.

Judge V.R. Revanakara told media that convicted personnel would be sentenced on Monday, following arguments by both the prosecution and defence.

The convicted militants, who are believed to belong to the banned militant outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba, are Mohammed Raza-ul-Rehman, Afzal Pasha, Mehboob Ibrahim, Miruddin Khan, Nizamuddin and Munna.

Police had charged the accused under Indian Penal Code (IPC) Section 120B (Punishment of Criminal Conspiracy), 121 (Waging or attempting to wage war), 121A (Conspiracy to commit offences), Section 3 (Punishment for causing explosion likely to endanger life or property) and Section 4 (possession or under his control any explosive substance) of the Explosive Substances Act,  as well as others sections of the Arms Act.

The accused were convicted of having opened deadly fire on delegates at an international conference at the J.N. Tata Auditorium on the IISc campus, on Dec. 28, 2005. M.C. Puri, a former professor at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), was killed in the attack, while four others were injured.