Australian Cricketers
Australian Cricket TeamReuters

Two-time winners Australia take on New Zealand in the seventh game of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy 2013 at Edgbaston, Birmingham on Wednesday. The teams from Group A have one game each in the tournament.


Australia are the only country which have won Champions Trophy title (2006 and 2009) twice and New Zealand won in 2000. 40 matches have been played at Edgbaston and the first innings average score is 223.

Australia come into the contest after conceding a 48-run defeat to England in their tournament opener. They have to pull out all the stops on Wednesday as they need to win to stay in the competition.

New Zealand have two points on the table after beating Sri Lanka by one wicket in the previous game. They will come into the contest with their eyes firmly set on the semi-final berth.

Previous Meetings:

Australia have 85-34 win-loss record against New Zealand and five no-results out of their 124 ODIs meetings. Australia won seven of their last ten encounters and won all the four meetings at ICC Champions Trophy.

Team News:

Australia: Skipper Michael Clarke, who missed the opener against England due to a back injury, has been ruled out of the second game too as he is still undergoing treatment. His absence will give a big blow to the team.

George Bailey and James Faulkner scored half centuries, while Phil Hughes scored 30 in the previous game. Openers David Warner and Shane Watson need to give a good start so that the middle order can add some quick runs and put up a good total on the board.

James Faulkner and Clint McKay took two wickets apiece while Shane Watson and Mitchell Starc took one wicket each in the previous match. They need to restrict the score of the in-form New Zealand team.

New Zealand: Their batting line-up collapsed in the previous game, almost failing to chase a small total (138) posted by Sri Lanka. They are a good batting side with the likes of Martin Guptill, Luke Ronchi, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, James Franklin and Brendon McCullum in the team. They need put up a big score on the board as Aussies are a strong side.

Mitchell McClenaghan was the hero of the previous match, taking four wickets. Kyle Mills and Nathan McCullum also took two wickets apiece. They ensured a win by restricting the score of the Sri Lankans to just 138.


New Zealand's performance in the previous game was not impressive but they are strong team had won a series in England recently. However, Australia, who are known for bouncing back at crucial hours, are the favourites to win on Wednesday.


Australia: Michael Clarke (Captain), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (Captain), Trent Boult, Grant Elliot, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson

Where to Watch Live

The match will kick off at 3:00 PM IST on Tuesday and it will be telecast live on Star Cricket and Star Sports channels in India. It will also be live streamed online on Star Sports official website.