Sri Lanka v New Zealand [ICC Champions Trophy 2013]
Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan (R) celebrates after the dismissal of New Zealand's James Franklin during the ICC Champions Trophy Group A cricket match at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff, on 9 June, 2013Reuters

Australia will take on Sri Lanka in the 12th game of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy 2013 at Kennington Oval, London on Monday.

The match will kick off at 05:30 PM IST on Monday and it will be telecast live on Star Sports and Star Cricket channels in India. It will also be live streamed online on Star Sports official website.  

Match Overview:

Australia have one point in the table from the match against New Zealand that was called off due to rain. They conceded a 48-run defeat to England in the opener, exposing the vulnerability of their batting line-up. For them, just winning is not enough; they need to win big on Monday to make it to the semi-final, as New Zealand, which has three points on the table, have good net run rate.

Sri Lanka have two points in the table following one-wicket defeat to New Zealand before beating England by seven wickets. They need to beat Australia on Monday to enter the knockout stage.

Previous Meetings:

Australia have 55-30 win-loss and four no-results record against Sri Lanka from 89 meetings. However, Sri Lanka won their only meeting in the Champions Trophy in 2002.

Team News:

Australia: George Bailey and James Faulkner scored half centuries in the first match but conceded 48-run defeat to England. They would not get the chance to bat in the second match against New Zealand due to rain. Openers David Warner and Shane Watson will be expected to give a good start to the team so that other batsmen can play their natural game. Skipper Michael Clarke, who missed the first two matches due to a back injury, is likely return for the decider match.

James Faulkner and Clint McKay took two wickets apiece while Shane Watson and Mitchell Starc took one wicket each in their first match. With Mitchell Johnson, Adam Voges and Mitchell Marsh in the line-up, they are a good bowling side.

Sri Lanka: After scoring a half century in the first match, Kumar Sangakkara went on to score 134 (not out) in the crucial second match against England. He will be expected to give out a similar performance on Monday. The good news is that Tillakaratne Dilshan, Nuwan Kulasekara and Mahela Jayawardene contributed in the previous match.

Lasith Malinga has taken six wickets while Shaminda Eranga took two in the previous two matches. They also have Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Angelo Mathews and Dilshan in the bowling attack.


Monday's match is going to be a tight one with both the teams looking a little vulnerable. With more experienced players, who can handle pressure, in the side, Sri Lanka have a slight edge over Australia.


Australia: Michael Clarke (Captain), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Kushal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chanaka Welegedara